The ClimbsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports7 years ago


Credits: Rhei Salvilla (Fujifilm xa10)
Location: Ambongdolan brgy., Tublay, Benguet, Philippines
December 2017

Sports have always been a part of my life, I did basketball, volleyball, table tennis, bowling and even dance-sport but wall climbing was different. It’s both simple and complex in many ways like techniques, positions and holds- it’s not just about strength or power. Furthermore, the urge to finish a route entices climbers to try again even if they fall, a climber will always stand up and do it again.

Following that, I remember the first time I tried wall climbing, my cousins and I were drinking hot chocolate when we saw a 35 ft high wall, full of holds or artificial rocks. Also, we noticed some people climbing- they were shouting as they fall from it and since we were nearby, why not try it? The climbing area has 3 stages- easy, moderate (which were on the flat wall) and difficult (an inclined wall). And so, as we were getting ready for the climb, I was nervous- very nervous, I can’t even tie my shoes properly. As I was ascending the first wall, the thought of falling crossed my mind and I was scared, I tried to reach the top but it was not easy at all, although they said it was the easiest. Halfway through the top, my legs were shaking and my hands cannot grip the holds anymore. I tried with all my strength to finish it and gladly I reached the top and rung the bell. Overall, the experience did excite and encourage me to come back but since I was too busy that time, I came back after a year to learn the proper techniques and maybe pursue my career in wall climbing.

D734F82C-6106-46A2-96CB-2B2B0250409B.jpeg
Girl power with me and a french climber.
Credits: Camelia Bagno
Location: Kalay-at Wall Climbing Center, Upper Session rd, Baguio City, Philippines
May 2017

Since then, I was climbing every time I get off from work but just recently, I got to experience bouldering on natural rocks. It was indeed different from indoor climbing because of the holds and there was no harness, just crash pads and other climbers as spotters so dropping is not an option, I have to finish it no matter what happens.

B48456A6-6DB3-4AC0-B0F8-4557E3404304.jpeg
My first outdoor climbing. Boulder was 10-15ft high. Vincent, Emman and Chris as spotters.
Credits: Rhei Salvilla (Fujifilm xa10)
Location: Ambongdolan brgy., Tublay, Benguet, Philippines
December 2017

Finally, climbing not only made me physically fit, but also I got to meet a lot of cool climbers who made me realise that I will always climb happy.


With the crew.
Credits: Rhei Salvilla (Fujifilm xa10)
Location: Ambongdolan brgy., Tublay, Benguet, Philippines
December 2017

Sort:  

Steem On!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Thank you @grezsr! You should try wall climbing, it's really fun 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57