You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Changing Your Betting Mindset

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

I have always been interested in the information provided in the form guides and how much you can use it to put in better bets. I find that at least the information is based on actual data rather than the financial reports you read about companies on which you use to invest in the sharemarket :p

People often talk about psychology and emotions involved in betting (which I think makes up for a fair bit of the mindset), and the use of data or information can help provide a more objective view.

Sort:  

It helps to have a form guide, but really what you get elsewhere is just the tip of the iceberg so I find its best to make your own form guide.

I see. If that's just the tip of the iceberg, where do you get your info (or is this a trade secret)? It is surprisingly how religiously people follow the form guide (at least those that are at the TAB putting in big bets) :p

Depends what you're betting on. I assume it's racing since they're the only real form guides you see in the newspaper. There are databases you can pay for with all the time trial info, some watch videos of past races etc. You could build a pretty awesome and comprehensive form guide that blows away what you'd find in the newspaper. But you might have to pay for it.

Stay tuned, I'm thinking of writing a series called something like Lifecycle of a Bet or something. The first stage would be about Research and producing your own form guide.

I'd prefer to create one than to pay for it, considering that there are things out there that would blow away what is on the form guide in the newspapers (which I thought was pretty good - but that shows how little I know :p). I am going to keep an eye out for your posts, and maybe I'll have better luck in next year's Melbourne Cup :D

LOL, the Melbourne Cup is the hardest thing to pick...possibly ever!

I missed my chance to retire comfortably on Melbourne Cup a few years ago, but it remains a favourite story of mine about betting: https://steemit.com/story/@plushzilla/my-tip-for-the-melbourne-cup-beat-the-bookies-by-just-having-fun

I think the other really tough ones to pick are the FA cup and the NCAA final eight :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55