HUGE FISH - ICE FISHING IN WISCONSIN

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

In this post I will describe how this sport of ice fishing is done. Ice fishing in Wisconsin can be fantastic! Many people spend countless hours on the ice waiting to hear the scream "FLAG," meaning a tip-up has been triggered and a fish has swallowed their bait. As they race to grab the line before the fish lets go, all the while thinking, maybe it the monster fish I've been dreaming of!!

Monster Northern Pike

As you can see in the photo the reward can be fantastic. The whopper of a fish was caught by my good friend Rick. He pulled this huge Northern Pike through a 9" hole in the ice.

Here in Wisconsin the bitter cold temperatures causes the ice on many lakes and rivers to get thick enough to drive cars out on the ice. Here you can see we used a 4 wheeler to take our gear out to a good fishing location on the frozen lake. The ice on this particular lake on this day was 20" thick.

Once you find your desired location you unload your equipment. Using a gas powered ice auger, you drill through the ice into the water. Often we will pre-drill many holes at locations near where we are parked. We can then move from hole to hole if we aren't getting any action.

After you have the holes drilled, you clean the ice chunks from the hole and set your bait, for large fish you use a tip-up. Tip-ups are spring loaded so that if a fish grabs your bait, a flag raises up.

When we see a flag up, you run to the hole and feel the line for the fish. Once you know the fish still has your bait, you tighten the line, and pull hard setting the hook. Now you have to battle the fish and pull the line as you bring the fish in. You must be careful near the hole, don't want to get the fish caught sideways.

Huge Northern's like this are a blast to catch thru the ice.

Logo's created by @siningniviola

Thanks for visiting, please follow, comments are free.


Sort:  

wow that's a nice one! thanks for sharing :)

My husband used to ice fish.I went once or twice but it's too cold for me! He used to go with a couple of buddies and they would build an ice hut so they could stay out of the cold winds.

Bravo!. That looks like a little bit of paradise, all right, albeit a cold one. I have been to Wisconsin this time of year, and I do remember freezing half to death. You are some hardy folk up there. Congratulations on your catch!

Thank you my friend!! When you're born here it seems normal. hehe

Nice! 5 pounds? Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary.

Nice write up, thanks for sharing . What caught my attention is the 20sbd you just sent to a steemian, wow that's so generous of you. Your reward shall be double, I just started following

Thank you my friend!! Followed back!!
Let's build Steemit into the community we want to see!!
Join us at the #gratefulvibes discord channel here: https://discord.gg/y863T7m

I just joined the channel

woowww
great friends.
very large fish

do you forget my friend.
I lost the discord

Thank you so much my friend!!
You can rejoin the discord!!
You are invited to join here: https://discord.gg/y863T7m

You have give us lots of information about catch fishing into iceberge. really its interesting formula. but i upset that, don't have any iceberg in my country. Whatever, if i get a single chance for fishing into iceberge then i'll use this system.
Thanks lot of idea.
great to share.
upvote Sir

Thank you my friend!!

Wow, nice! I couldn't imagine the thrill when you see that flag go up. Signaling the game is on, and then the long fight. Only for it to make it all the way to the hole and turn sideways. Yikes! @freedompoint

Thank you my friend!!

Love fishing for northern! Ice or spring all fun and great eating.

i want to see this type post... because i am a crazy person about sports... you sharing a interesting post about different type sports... i interested about it... best of luck...

Thank you my friend!! Followed you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77