You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tom Brady - certainly not the greatest sportsman of all time ... but I would suggest the greatest WINNER

in #sports8 years ago

even though Basketball is the only sport which the US invented.

Basketball was invented by a Canadian, in the US.
It was a good game today. I watched most of it. Our Canadian league has a different approach to overtime though. If one team scores, the other team gets a chance to score. If they fail, game over.

Sort:  

Yes, you are absolutely right about basketball - what is even funnier is that they used closed nets for a long time and had to punch the ball back out of the net!
Still, had to give the seppos one sport!
The first ever international cricket match ... between the USA and Canada in Philly!!
Still, Tom Brady, not just a great QB but a man who really does know how to win! I bet he was taunting Atlanta like they have never heard!

Yeah, my comment was a bit off topic, all apologies. You're right though. Peach baskets. A man would climb a ladder to retrieve the ball, before they decided to cut a hole in the bottom. That could be myth though.

As for Brady, I haven't paid much attention to him, but he does seem poised in the pocket and handles pressure well. He doesn't strike me as the type to taunt, more like the type who, when he's around, people are just naturally pissed that he's there.

No apologies needed my friend. I am just astounded at the singular presence to the situation that the very best athletes have. There is a presence and aura about them. I have half written another post about the very elite sports people. They have a different view. Things slow down. There is an avenue where for many there is a crack.
I forgot that it was peach nets - and yes, good recall! Believe it or not it is supposed to have been my lot who first made planks under their feet which were meant to slide on snow!

I played hockey. The only moment time slowed for me... was when I was coming off the ice after receiving a big hit.

Haha! I have some very funny sports stories - but the one I shall tell here is that aged 15 I was in the school cricket XI. We were playing at Eton and my brother (older) was hit three times in one over (series of 6 pitches). Aged 15, and by a long way the youngest on the team I stormed the pitch and was going to give 'what for' to the tall and aggressive fast bowler (pitcher), probably the son of Lord Ponsonby-Smooth! . Eton is a pretty posh sort of place and I entirely forgot where I was. Much to my relief the rest of the team and the Coach were close behind! Funny the memories that stick!
Brother was fine but the pride bruises are always worse than the real ones!

@ebryans Them damn Canadians! They may have invented Basketball but Americans perfected it :)

I remember watching the Harlem Globetrotters as a kid - they were amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43