My slackline skills after first 2 days :D [Video of the day #2]

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

No skills there, but all heart baby, all heart... Never give up! :D Breath work on the level of Rickson Gracie though :D

Video recorded in 2013, got much better since :) I'll write an extensive post about slacklining as well, makes me sad there wasn't even slacklining tag on steemit before this post of mine.

Best of:
thimg776.jpg

Selection_777.jpg

Selection_778.jpg

Sort:  

Hey! Fellow Bjj-er here. That's impressive and inspiring. I have done a lot of different balance work but never even thought of this. I am bit flat-footed so I need it!

What other balance work have u done? Something u could recommend?

I'm big into handstands but don't really think it helps with bjj, I do them just cuz it feels fancy :D...maybe makes me more relaxed in some upside-down berimbolo-like positions

Regarding slack: Just go and try it, it's a lot of fun :) I honestly think it makes you so much more aware of your whole body...weird to explain but you just start recognizing all those tiny core muscles which help with balance.

My brother is a trainer who is big on balance workouts, we did a lot of different things. If you have a balance trainer/board or Swiss ball, push-ups, sit-ups, lifting weights off them. Kettlebell raises. Suspension rope squats and raises. I have found yoga to be super beneficial as well.

I really want to do a headstand..never have before in my life. Since I started bjj, I’ve gotten closer and closer by using a wall to hoist me up but still need tons of work. Any tips on how to get there? I wanna be a little fancy too lol

Just patience...start with the wall and push yourself to free balance with ur feet...again and again and again...What really worked for me was spreading fingers as wide as possible so my base is as wide as possible...but there are thousands of tutorials which differ 100% sooo I guess for everybode works something else...all the tutorials have just one thing in common and it says - PATIENCE!

And nope I don't have any swiss ball or anything similar...yet :D

Btw what a coincidence that u r also a keto guy..I just posted a question in a comment section on this keto post (https://steemit.com/ketogenic/@nichemeninja/when-all-else-fails-eat-eggs-ketogenic-lifestyle)..if u have time, lemme know what you think of my situation. Thx!

slacklining looks very interesting. But it is hard to find a place here in malaysia that offer slacklining class

Hmm I guess you wouldn't find official classes anywhere in the world...you basically just buy the kit and start trying. It's common activity among climbers so maybe look for some local climbers in your area.

I've once organized a public slacklining event in Slovakia and it was kind of success, if you ever come to Slovakia, PM me on FB and I can give u a slacklining crash course :D

2015-09-13 15.45.06.jpg

12026521_10206628863538917_287858466_n.jpg
Me helping 1

12026528_10206628843978428_373187863_n.jpg
Me helping 2

Not bad! Slackline looks so difficult Oo

Next step, pistol squat on the slack line. Lol

Dude, believe me, I've tried sooo many times :D With undisputed 100% failure rate :D

Try with a spot first, idk I can’t do it ether lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70