You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time for Baseball to Make a Radical Change: Blow Up the Ninth Inning and Let the Stars Shine

in #sports7 years ago

You make some very valid points to raising the interest level, and if you're willing to throw tradition out the window, I think this would definitely bring in more eyes. May bring a negative impact by the purists. I don't think the offset of people being upset would cancel out the larger # of people watching though.

Personally, I am a longtime baseball fan and I love tradition. I love the way the game is now. I love the chess matches in the National League that involve using the pitcher’s spot in the batting order.

This is me too. Every single pitch is a new game. The biggest problem I see is that people don't see it this way. They see it as non-action, when in my view, every pitch changes the plan for the next pitch. 3-0 count, bet fastball. 0-2 count, bet breaking ball. Runner on 1st against a pitcher with a slow delivery, bet on a steal. The scenarios and strategies are endless. People who don't know the game aren't playing these out in their head like myself. I can sit and watch a 9 inning (if there are extra innings, well that's just free baseball) game all by myself and enjoy every minute of it. It saddens me to know that I am in the minority because I love the game so much.

Sort:  

Absolutely. Extra innings and one team runs out of bench players. The manager brings in their best hitting pitcher to pinch hit. Now that's a game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66