#36 NBA Moves! Raptors trade DeMar DeRozan. My Personal Opinion (Haas Picks)

in #sports6 years ago

How do I feel about the latest Toronto Raptors trade? Let’s find out together.

NBA Ball.png

History
Before I discuss the trade I want to take you through my personal history and the history of the Toronto Raptors.
The NBA has many powerhouses and free agents always tent to go the bigger markets. Back in the days no players wanted to play in Toronto, and still today it’s hard for them land big free agents. Let’s look back to the Vancouver Team, it’s not even there anymore.
The last decade a lot changed, just watch the “The Carter effect” on Netflix and you will understand the Basketball in Canada is really booming right now. They even line-up outside for all the play-offs. So you can say things changed big time. But what was one off the main reason for it to chance? DeMar DeRozan!

DeMar DeRozan
He got drafted by the Raptors and really worked on his game every year, by now he is respected All-Star and one of the elite scorers in the NBA. He is also one of the few players that truly committed to the Raptors.
So do I like this trade? No I hate it! I love players that are able to play for the same team their whole careers and dislike it when players change teams all the time. That’s why I don’t understand this trade by the Toronto Raptors. I do understand they needed to do something in order to make it to the finals. But I rather never make it to the finals and see DeMar play in Toronto.
My understanding is that the Raptors believed that they could not win with DeMar DeRozan, even thought they had the best regular season record. But again they fired the coach as well.

NBA raptors.png

Kawhi Leonard
Don’t get me wrong I love the skill level of Leonard and think if he is healthy and committed he can really help the team.
I just don’t understand that the Raptors made this move because Leonard said many times he wants to play in Los Angeles. I therefore think he will sign in LA next season anyway.
The Raptors are hoping for a Paul George scenario but I don’t see that happen.

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING DeMar DeRozan! WE WILL MISS YOU!

Sort:  

I agree. So hard to get good players to commit to Canada. Kawhi is out of thier next year, they can't even be sure he'll play this year.
Raptors could have contended for the final now that LeBron is out of the east. They'd have probably ended up against Boston and lost in the east final. Kawhi isn't enough to get the over gws, so just keep demar and enjoy making the east finals for the next 4 years
Spurs did well to get something for him.

Instead they maybe maybe win the east this year then they are out of contention for the next 5 years after that

excellent my friend...are my Knicks going to amount to anything? I used to be a huge fan. Have lost a lot of interest pretty past few years.

they have drafted a strong rookie! Next year maybe Irving and Butler?

I really hope kawhi is healthy. I also hope he stays next year. Go raptors.

I feel for derozan. He is good. He will be amazing under pop though.

DeRozan will be fine, feel the franchise dissrespected him by tradim him. If he stays long-term I am okay with the trade haha

Toronto took the bait that Philly avoided. They traded their best player for a rental. If Kawhi doesn't stay after next year then the raptors played themselves into mediocrity. This is why Philly stopped pursuing him, SA wanted something big (Simmon, Embiid) and Kawhi refused to agree to play with them long-term. Toronto bankrupted themselves in the hopes that they can sell Kawhi on Toronto before next season is up. I liked DeRozan, very talented and continuously improving. Now I think he will be overlooked simply bc the West is so stacked. Bad move by Toronto and by SA because I don't think DeRozan will fit very well with the Spurs.

If Leonard does not stay atleast they will have cap-space to rebuild, as I mentioned would have loved to see DeRozan at the Raptors his whole career. but if they make it to the finals this year they will have the best season ever, wait and see

Im only can see one thing. Raptors are ready for rebuilding team. Before season 2020/21 the will have a lot free money. DeRozan was franchize player, but at same time big selfish player. We will see or he can prove superstar level in Spurs with Popovic...Im doubtful in that.

thats the only good part, if Leonard does not want to stay longterm they have capspace to rebuild indeed.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83