Did you know basketballs used to have laces?

in #sports7 years ago

This past weekend I took my son to the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA. It is a cool museum built around a full-size basketball court covered by a three-story dome. The top floor houses the hall of famer portraits with an historical timeline of the development of the game. The second floor displays memorabilia, videos, and a bunch of interactive displays and games for kids. These all oversee the full-size court on the bottom floor on which everyone can shoot hoops.

Of course, my son loved playing the games and shooting hoops, but I found the history fascinating. Did you know that early basketballs had laces like footballs?

According to the NBA, the laces were removed from the design in 1937. Probably because it bounced funny if you dribbled on the laces... In the earliest days, they played with soccer balls and the like. Here's a photo of the ball used in the 1960 Olympics. It's basically just a volleyball!

Sort:  

Dude, I've driven by there so many times and never been. My brothers are huge basketball fans...and I'm not sure either of them have ever been either.

It's fun for a few hours. Perhaps not awesome enough to justify a long drive, but if you're in the area...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65