Week 1 NFL DFS entries

in #sports8 years ago (edited)

Sorry I've been a bit inactive on Steemit this week, but have been extremely busy with the first week of NFL. Just wanted to give an update on the buyins I'm playing across all the sites, and how things have started so far.

Draftkings

Golf

I put $15k in play for Golf and should profit at least $5000. Right now I'm up $4500 and I have a bunch of players still on the course who can rack up points.


I played two cash game lineups that I put in most of the big contests, then 10 more tournament lineups, rotating through the players I liked, spreading out my ownerships around 15 core players.

Football

I put a little over $42k in play for Draftkings NFL and things started well there, but I have a lot of players left and everything could change quickly.

Thursday NFL

I ran one main cash game lineup, one big tournament lineup, and then 4 other tournament lineups. Luckily my two biggest teams are doing well, and I have one tournament lineup that is doing extremely well and could win some big field stuff.

Sunday NFL


I have 3 cash game teams for the 1 EST NFL games. The top left and top right are for the main 13 game slate (I only varied the defense not wanting to get buried based on one team performing below expectation), and the top middle is for the 1 PM EST slate only.

The bottom middle and bottom right lineups are for the afternoon slate games, and the other lineups with 16-19 entries I threw in about $650 worth of tournament buyins each.

Fanduel

I have $36.5k in play for NFL on fanduel this week across 16 lineups and 6 slates (thursday, main, sunday only, 1pm only, 4pm only, afternoon)




I decided to not play as much Spencer Ware on Fanduel because I have him on every slate on every other site and his price is relatively worse on Fanduel. He crushed, and now I wish I had him here too, but I should be ok because my other players are doing well so far.

Yahoo

I have another $15k in play on Yahoo. I split up my lineups between more Dak Prescott and some Aaron Rodgers lineups because he was underpriced there. Yahoo is too early to tell because everyone has a lot of players left.

Fantasy Draft

I have about $7k in buyins on Fantasydraft and my main opponent is Condia and he is drawing dead against my lineup so I am already assured a win there.

Fantasyaces

I couldn't find a page that lists my total buyins, but I have about $6600 in play there across 4 lineups in 256 total contests. Luckily I have Vikings Defense in my biggest lineup, but everyone has a lot of players remaining here too.

Overall

Overall I have $123,133.75 in play across two sports on 5 sites and 6,882 total contests. That takes a long time to register, organize, and prepare for, so you can see why my steemit blogging and commenting time has reduced this week. Most NFL weeks will be this much work and this much invested, but at least during football season I get more time off on Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday. When basketball starts, I'll try to check in once a week, but I won't have much spare time unfortunately.

It is a very large amount of money, but as a professional gambler I have learned to ignore the amount in play and focus only on my approach.

I also treat different forms of gambling differently. I play very big in DFS because I am one of the best players in the world. When I play poker nowadays, I may only have $1500 in play at any given time because I am no longer among the very best in the world and need to play smaller. When I trade cryptocurrencies, I maybe trade a bitcoin at a time because I am still learning and don't want to risk that much. When I sports bet, my average betsize is maybe $250 per bet because I feel less confident there. I play as big as my skill level allows in each area and focus more on the process than the actual results.

That said, let's hope the results go well and week 1 doesn't sting me! Anyone else play much DFS this week? What did your teams look like?


My name is Ryan Daut and I'd love to have you as a follower. Click here to go to my page, then click in the upper right corner if you would like to see my blogs and articles regularly.

I am a professional gambler, and my interests include poker, fantasy sports, football, basketball, MMA, health and fitness, rock climbing, mathematics, astrophysics, cryptocurrency, and computer gaming.

Sort:  

Will check back in with a blog post on Tuesday about how things ended up.

edit: The afternoon games went about as bad as possible. Dak had a kind of bad game, Luck did really well, Marvin Jones didn't do much, Hauschka not many fantasy points kicking. I'm probably going to have a small losing week, but could win if Martellus Bennett goes crazy tonight

What a let down for Bennett.. wish he could get fantasy points for the blocking performance he put up

Came back late to this post, have been on vacation for the past week and just catching up with everything! Can't wait to see the post tomorrow! My biggest letdown was a tie between Gary Barnidge and the entire Seahawks offense. I knew RGIII would be rough, but still thought Gary would get his. Plus, its hard to predict injuries, and Wilson's ankle was a tough blow for the team.

Had some modest successes though, albeit a MUCH smaller scale than you with my algorithm, going to write up an analysis tomorrow. So happy football is back!

First time posting, but following and reading post for a while here on steemit!

I had somes questions for you @daut44, since I made the transition from Poker to DFS.

  1. Whats your bankroll managements rules? Like in poker I was comfortable with 50 buy-in to play cash games in small stakes, what about DFS? What % of one bankroll should be in play to be "safe"? Whats an optimal %distribution for GPPs and Cash?

  2. On FD how to you pick a Kicker? The seems to be all "punt" plays to me (pun intended)

  3. Whats your take on stacks QBs and RBs for tournaments line-ups? (Like your Brees - Ingram - Cook Line-Up) For my noob brain, its seems weird Game Theory wise.

I'll compare your decisions with mines and be back with more. Thank you so much for posting that kind of stuff!

I was tempted to move off Ware a bit when Reed said he was going to go with more of a committee but I am glad I stuck with him.

I wasn't too worried about that, was more thinking Yeldon might be a better option with Ivory out. Just decided to go both on DK. On FD though, Ware's price was relatively higher so I chose mostly Lamar and Deangelo Williams. I think it was the right play, as the only Ware lineup I liked forced me to move off Martellus who I thought was a must play everywhere. Basically lamar+martellus > ware+reed

I'm just glad to see someone writing well thought out pieces on sports, or at least fantasy sports. I just wrote an article about how there is a surprising lack of sports content on Steemit.

oh wow so glad you're doing that, love trying to dechiper what you top guys are doing with your lineup construction.

Good luck man, starting ware was brilliant. The players you've got left should perform well (like Antonio brown), interesting your high valuation of Dax, he has played surprisingly well.

I'm not sure it was the high value so much as his bargain basement price tag. He doesn't need to have that good of a game to return value for his price.

Indeed. That seems likely. Nevertheless Dax played much better than I would have expected so the return on value there was likely pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50