What is your favourite winter activity? (4th installment)

in #sports7 years ago

Even though it is cold out, there are many great activities to partake in during the winter. In fact, the best part about winter is spending time outside in the crisp air. Afterwards you come in to a warm house, place your wet boots and gloves over the heater vents, turn on the fireplace and have a nice hot drink of hot chocolate (with marshmallows) or maybe a coffee (with Baileys).
So what is your favourite Winter activity #teamcananda ?

Each week I am planning on listing one of mine. My first week I talked about Snowboarding, I have talked about Tobogganing and hockey...
This week we are going to move onto:

Outdoor Skating!

Living in Canada there is no shortage of outdoor rinks. Small ponds are frozen everywhere and every other person you know is trying to build a rink in their backyard.
Most municipalities also have rinks at local parks, or down by city hall. My hometown has a few. But if you go to the one downtown, they rent out skates so that everyone has a chance to learn. They also have a full sized Zamboni to keep the ice flat and fresh, and a food booth that sells hot chocolate! It cant be beat.
We often head down there and skate around for an hour or so. I think that Luke and I enjoy it more than my wife but she always comes with us and throws on her skates. She is a good skater and the family time cant be beat.

The video below is from last year when my son was only 5.
Go skate outside with us and make some great winter memories for years to come!


As usual, click on an image to view page source.

teamcanada_S

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

I tried, I failed. I fell, I got back up. I fell on my ass, I laughed. Maybe I just need more practice, but every time I put on ice skates, my knees wobble. Sure, I only tried it twice, but still. Unfortunately, there are no outdoor rinks here.

the biggest tip is to keep your toes pointing outward so you can dig in. Also keeping your knees slightly bent you you can adjust your balance.
Also you don't need an ice pack for your but as you end up sitting on ice already when you fall!

Looking back, it's funny how children half my size where skating circles around me as I was sitting on the cold ice. It wasn't funny at the time though. Wasn't funny at all.

I don't think I have one as I have never experienced winter season. Haha! But I would really love to try out skiing. :)

My first episode was on snowboarding!

great sport wish they did it as much in the UK dadview : )

Make a trip to Canada!
In Ottawa you can skate along the river. It is pretty cool.

wow iv been to toronto, but Ottawa seem amazing too, Thank you dadview!, did you like my last art post "indiffrence" what you think ? great to get your interpretion! : )

It was great. You are talented.
I like how your paintings make you think
Thanks for stopping by my post, hopfully you check out some more and show some love with some upvotes!

You tell him dad, he's all over the place asking everyone the same thing.

I figured he was.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52