You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Sports - The Greatest Players of All-Time - Who is the G.O.A.T? (Part 2)

in #sports6 years ago

Well, sir! Two topics that I have some opinions on. Last first.

Boxing. Ali. There's some questions, but you have to remember he lost the peak 4 years of his career to his stance on the draft. I think he had more to do with the end of Jim Crow than anyone, and that's saying something. Body of work, for me, it's Ali. Mayweather? In the discussion. Duran? He simply dominated what might be the best group of fighters ever. In the end? Say it! Say it, Sonny Liston. Say My Name. Muhammad Ali.

Baseball: Babe Ruth carried the whole game on his back, not to mention the Yankees. Willie Mays started playing pro ball at age 14, and played at an incredible level for a LONG time. Ken Griffey Jr was the very best I ever saw in person. Best left handed stroke of all time.

So make it Ted Williams. He gave up 5 seasons to Military Service and his numbers are still dumbfounding. I'm willing to say Mike Trout might be the guy, but he has some work left to do.

Pitchers:

Koufax and Drysdale simply dominated an era. Same for Warren Spahn. He threw a 14 inning 2 hitter at age 51. I got to see Randy Johnson throw a bunch. When he was right he was unhittible. But the very best I saw, and Best of all time is Nolan Ryan. Seven no hitters. Seven.

Thanks Bronco. This one surely got my attention.

Sort:  

I absolutely loved watching Griffey Jr at bat. OMG what a sweet swing he had. So many greats in the history of the game. Nolan Ryan’s was a beast of a man and he threw haymakers as well as he threw fastballs. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75