You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gaz's Week of Sporting Stress. Issue 1

in #sport6 years ago

I had no idea Green Bay was publicly own. I might just have to watch them now. I usually avoid watching the big pro sports teams because they charge too much for tickets and expect the public to fund their stadiums, then pick up and leave whenever it suits them.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Sort:  

My wife and I came to the US for our honeymoon quite a while ago, and one of my bucketlist items is/was to watch and NFL match. We thought we'd missed tickets because they are sold a little differently to AFL ones, here in Aus. Anyway, we then decided to go to a College match. Turns out college football is probably even bigger than the NFL. Tickets were more expensive, and even more rare. We were quite stunned.

I have never been but I here it's pretty awesome. In a lot of cases the crowds are bigger than NFL crowds.

Anyone from outside the US, including myself, always finds that a weird concept.

What teams did you see?

Hey @toddrjohnson

They certainly are. It was a while ago since I last went to Lambeau but the face value of our seats was something like $30 although it cost me more to get hold of them from the UK. They also have a waiting list for season tickets which is something like a thirty year wait.

The local Brown County residents do pay for the stadium improvements though but they do seem to do it willingly and get to vote on it too. The Packers did play at Milwaukee as well as Green Bay up until the 70's (I think) but now it's just Lambeau and I don't ever see that changing.

I would love to think that I have just created another cheesehead! 😂

Thanks for your comments.

Gaz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55089.06
ETH 2939.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09