Floyd Conor? Here's why I won't watch it!

in #sport7 years ago

Some of you surely have heard about the upcoming boxing bout between former p4p number one Floyd Mayweather and UFC champion and star Conor McGregor.

Mayweather vs McGregor.jpg

Even if you are not in this world, you may have come across this news when it went mainstream months ago. I do not even remember when I first heard about it, but the talkings between the two champions lasted months, and after several pulls and springs it seemed that nothing would ever happen when Dana White stated that they lost the date for the bout due to Canelo vs. Golovkin upcoming fight.
But you know what? Against any expectation, a few days ago in an interview, Dana White released that a historic contract had been reached between the UFC and Conor McGregor, and that the negotiations with Floyd have begun.
After only a few days from the interview, in Saturday match between Gervonta Davis and Liam Walsh, Floyd said that the deal is almost made and the fight will likely happen.

Well, let me say that this boxing match will be a joke and I have no interest in watching it. Both fighters are only interested in the ridiculous amount of cash involved in it and let me list why, in my opinion, both fighters want this bout.

Conor icon.jpg Conor McGregor

Conor will get something around 70mln to split between him and the UFC, that will probably take most of the pie. He has never seen that amount in all his career. He comes from a different world, and he fights probably the best boxer that ever lived.

What if he loses? NOTHING! He lost against someone that is unbeaten for 20+ years in a sport which is not his, and in doing so, he gets a ridiculous amount of cash!

And if he wins? ...

floyd icon.jpg Floyd Mayweather

20+ years undefeated, fought against almost everyone (look at his resume http://boxrec.com/boxer/352), he is in its environment, his rules (weight, gloves) so it would be an easy paynight.
Easy paynight is the keyword for Floyd, we know how much he is worth (100mln in the Pacquiao fight), he is retired and forty this year so trust me he will get much more to get back to training and make weight.

I know that if the deal is finally made that night will be something spectacular and unforgettable, but on a boxing point of view, there will be very little to watch.
Instead, if you really want to watch something big take a pen and write down: Canelo Golovkin, 16 September 2017. That is the fight to be watched not just a cash-fight.

Write in the comments below what you think and cheers fight fans!

follow stemit.JPG @simoneb

Sort:  

Yeah it's just a money making scheme. Would I watch it? Yeah sure. Would I pay for it? Not a chance!
I personally don't think as many people will buy this PPV as they expect . I hope it crumbles.
I love Floyd as a boxer, he's an artist and up there with the best of all time. McGregor is not a boxer.
Just silly really. Who knows, maybe I'll be eating my words if they do get it on.

Not to mention McGregor's cardio, it seemed pretty shitty against Diaz..
But anyway, 100% agree with you!

I reckon the fight will be more competitive than most think. The build up should be unmissable. It will be a huge event, with many that swear blindly not to pay to watch, magically finding a way to tune in.

I understand Floyd being the A-side however the draw is McGregor and whether he can pull a rabbit in a boxing ring.

I agree, it will be a massive event for sure! Probably one of the biggest in fight history and we all know that in fight sports the upset is always around the corner, but said so, I find really unlikely for McGregor to pull out that rabbit!
Maybe I will put 5 bucks on Conor, you never know!

But at the end, you will watch it :P

Maybe living in Italy and being 9 hours ahead will help :P

haha :) where in ITALY? I'm in Slovenia...

Up in the north-west, 1 hour away from Torino.
And you man?

I am originally from Ljubljana, but I live in the wilds now(LETS MAKE IT A SECRET WHERE:), about 60km from the Croatian sea... Maybe one day we meet up and have a good time !

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67