Samsung Galaxy GPS - Is it accurate?

in #sport6 years ago

Do you use your smartphone to track your workout? Do you think your smartphone GPS is accurate? Well, I am not so sure. Here is a very simple comparison between a Samsung S6 and S7 using Strava to track a 15 - 16 km run I did twice this month.

I recently upgraded to a new Samsung phone. A Galaxy S7 (I know it is not new, but it is a company phone and that is what they had on stock). My old phone was a Galaxy S6 so it is an upgrade for me anyway.

I usually track my workout sessions with the Strava sports tracker. Using the GPS in the phone, you get a nice overview of your run, speeds at various segments and of course comparison against other people.

So here is the first tracking in Strava (with the S6)

3x A topp S6.jpg

And here is the second (S7)

3xA topp S7.jpg

Notice the difference? Apart from being a little bit slower (1 min) on the first go, I somehow ran almost 1.3 km shorter on the second! That is almost a 10% variation between identical routes with different phones. I now started to think that maybe all my previous results have been to optimistic. Am I right?

Sort:  

I also think my smartphone GPS is not accurate. So I use my GPS watch to record my running log.

Is your GPS watch more accurate than the smartphone GPS?

Yes, I think so.

Congratulations @moeostar! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42