I want to race and win for Steemit. FIRST STEEMIT PROFESSIONAL CYCLIST STORY. [TRAINING WITH STEEMIT VIDEO INCLUDED]

in #sport8 years ago

Hello Everyone, 

My name is Wojtek and I’have just started my adventure with Steemit. I got to know about this amazing platform from a friend who told me what Steemit is and what is going on in here. 

 So here I am – can’t wait to share my story with you. 

LET ME TELL YOU MORE ABOUT ME 

I was born in Poland in autumn 1984 in a little village which I jokingly called NRD. As you know, at that time, Poland was under the communist regime and life was very difficult.  

At the age of  9, as a little boy, I envinced the desire to compete. Being stubborn and persistent at same time, helped me make a decision of taking up sport which my dad implanted in me.  

LIKE FATHER LIKE SON   

My father was a very good and promising cyclist with a large number of successes. Unfortunately, the severe times we lived in, made his making a further career impossible and in the end he became a cycling coach.

 I can still remember this unforgettable feeling of excitement when my Dad took me for a first race in one of the Polish big cities.  “That was it” – I thought!  That was the moment I fell in love with this sport. As it turned out, it wasn’t a short term relationship but a whole life commitment. 

 In spring 1993, together with a group of other cyclists, I went for my first training in my life. I covered a distance of only 24 km then but I had a feeling that I rode across the whole world. It was an extraordinary and obviously no mean feat for such a little boy like me.   

[Me, my Dad and my first race.]    

 You are probably wondering what happened next… 

Well, my career as a professional cyclist advanced…  I achieved a lot of successes e.g. I was a Polish Champion NINE TIMES (U23 and Elite category) and won a lot UCI races. (INTERNATIONAL CYCLING UNION).I travelled around the whole world and raced in many countries such as: Australia, USA, Italy, France, The Netherlands, Russia etc…  In 2007, I was also called to National Team and was about to represent my country in Stuttgart during the ROAD WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS.  IT WAS A DREAM COME TRUE FOR ME!  

...BUT THEN SOMETHING UNEXPECTED HAPPENED…

 During one of the mountain races before the championships I had an accident and damaged my spine. Everything that I’ve worked so hard for, has suddenly ended. Imagine a young sportsman lying in a hospital and listening to the doctors whispering to each other: “I don’t think he will be able to walk again”.  

I thought my life was over…

 But as They say: 

“WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU, MAKES YOU STRONGER”  

I’ve been strangely fortunate, because the vertebra’s break didn’t damage the spinal cord and after six months of rehabilitation I was back in the saddle again. 

Since then, my sport’s life was very difficult. I only met people who were more about to take rather than give and help. Time passes by very quickly and the chances you are given do not come back very often. Sometimes, such moments happen once in a lifetime and everything depends on the luck.  

I’ve written this post to close this chapter of my life and start a new one… 

 I’m 31 now and one month ago I decided to finish my career as a professional cyclist. Nevertheless, I still want to be active and do what I was born to do – RIDE A BIKE!. In Poland, Amateur Cycling has gained a huge popularity and gathers thousands of cyclists at each race. It could be also a fantastic way to PROMOTE STEEMIT PLATFORM.  

 Do you think I could RACE under the label STEEMIT?  I’m waiting for your opinions.

 If you like the idea, I will be WINNING FOR STEEMIT!  

P.S. Let me introduce you my biggest fan - My Daughter Sophie

STEEMIT FIRST TRAINING!  

MUSIC: AWOLNATION – SAIL     

Sort:  

Bitcoin had a Bowl. Doge had a NASCAR. I want Steemit to have a Cyclist.

Congrats Man!

There's allways a space for an upvote where's a comitment and hard work! Keep up good work @indi21!

WOW I'm impressed! You're my inspiration! You have my vote BIG MAN!:-)

An adorable little creature is choking on those balloons right now. But im sure you donated all that money to environmental charity, BIG WOMAN. You and I both know you come from money. You dont need it. I intend to stalk your account until you make a public apology

Congratulations @indi21! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @indi21! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @indi21! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @indi21! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Keep up the great work @indi21
Upvoted

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.8 and reading ease of 78%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52