Polarized Poetry - BricolagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #spokenword4 years ago

Hey again to anyone who may happen to see this. I hope things are going good for you! I'm sharing the second to last spoken word poem music thingy I'll be posting for a while. Pretty excited to have this album almost totally uploaded and complete. :)

I worked on it pretty hard for a while and while some of the poems didn't receive much feedback... I did get some really good feedback on some of them from a number of different people and I feel pretty positive about going in this direction.

This is one of the few things in life I really wished I would have got into more sooner when I was younger.
Though, fortunately there's no real age barrier like there is with some other professions or arts to this so I'm happy I got into it now and I learned a LOT going down this route...

One of the things I learned the most is that I want to get beyond just regular spoken word and learn how to sing or rap with more skill.
I feel like I have some really good lyrics, years worth of material and the ability to create decent new poems/songs quickly...
If I could just get good at singing or rapping or both... I could maybe do something even more interesting with all this. 👽

Anyways... Onto the poem. This poem is a lil bit scattered and it's a bit negative in some areas, but, overall I think it's a positive sort of message and this one gave me some "feels". I think this is a good one for the near end of the album as it gives me a vibe of contemplation and meaningful future development.

I did unfortunately find a mistake right at the very end, but, it's not a big deal and as I mentioned before I would like to remaster these all someday so I'm just going to go with it.

This is mostly just to learn and grow right now, and then someday if I become more skilled I would like to try to do something more professional.
K. I've rambled enough. Peace.

I'll put the lyrics below and a link to the audio if you'd like to listen.

Bricolage

Sometimes this world seems so strange to me.
Love seems to be most salient, though, hate seems to be mostly prevailing.
Trying to find peace amongst the change in nature's breeze.
Don't think I'll ever get used to it.
Out there, an endless chaos perceived.
On the brink, an edge of extinguishment.
With good crucified, the demonic becomes normalized as commonly held belief.
Every day I want to quit.
And every day I also want to keep following my dreams.

Making some progress in life.
Perhaps it's not too late.
To do more things right.
To better understand this hate.
With wisdom applied in the right light.
Moving towards the great gates.
With a bigger drive alive inside.
Wondering what awaits...?
And wondering why...

Seeing with new eyes.
Now seeing the disguise.
Maybe in time...
I can starve the beast until it dies.
Or hug it until it cries.
Or use both those two techniques combined.
And if not at least I tried.
At least I tried.

The choosing of certain prisons grew.
While trying to give up the desire to punish.
It's a difficult drug to cease use.
Revenge can be a fun wish.
Some amount of it might be useful too.
However, I wanna try to be more peaceful and distinguished.
With more articulate and diplomatic goals pursued.
Bricolage, information collected, intermixed.
Options considered, possibilities with a twist.
Maybe a better way than fighting and destroying is to build something new from all this.
Pull yourself out of the Matrix.
Envision a world where you can go through..
To a fresh start to build something even better next...
It's up to you.

PS... I also posted another spoken word poem recently, though, I think I posted it while the servers were having issues and it got barely any upvotes or feedback so I wanted to post it again here and if you have an extra moment and are interested in hearing another one of my pieces of work then here's a link for the one I uploaded a few days ago. Thanks for checking out either of my poems if you did!

https://steemit.com/poetry/@apolymask/polarized-poetry-new-direction

Sort:  

Every poem, song, verse... must be for ourselves, that is, for our own existence. If others like it, that's profit.
This excellent...

Thanks for the feedback. :) And for the thought provoking words. I agree with what you said and that's how I look at it too. I'm doing this for myself first and then it's a bonus if others like it! Cheers. :)

Congratulations @apolymask! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37