Crying Over Split Milk - For Me The Point Was Always Bringing On Users

in #splitmilk4 years ago (edited)

Do you even Crypto Bro...?

Steem/Hive Battle is about Personalities, Ideologies and our own internal affairs.

Digital currencies are the future and it helps if they are also decentralized, transparent and immutable - various projects will have different strengths and weaknesses. None are perfect.

Ideology

I really don't care much for Bible Thumpers, Bitcoin Maximalists or extreme idealists in any sector. I'm much more impacted by common sense, tolerance and working towards goals. So the fact that Steem was already centralized was a concern, but not a deal breaker. The reward pool was a distribution tool not set in stone for any one use. The stakeholders and invested people would have this resource to allocate to people, things, projects, content, whatever would create a broader distribution and healthy economy.

My Story

The vision for Steem for me was always about connecting mainstream users with crypto and allowing them to get hands on experience, which would fuel adoption.

For several years I had heard of Bitcoin before joining Steem, I knew I was interested, that it sounded like a cool project. It was on my "someday I should check that out list".

When I heard @jamescorbett talk about Steem "a currency that works kind of like Bitcoin, but attached to a social media platform that respects privacy" I knew I had to check it out.

Three months later I had used Localbitcoin, Bittrex, Poloniex and Coinbase to purchase and trade various cryptos, including Steem and Bitcoin. I was able to accomplish that because of the platform and the community. I had people to advise, assist and educate me on this path. I documented much of that in my early Steem Posts.

As I explored the market space I looked at other projects, they were all trying to find ways to make their products more user friendly for mainstream end-users. Dash was working on "User Friendly Names" for their wallets, and faster transactions. I realized we already had those things.

As I explored other projects I realized I had accidentally discovered a project that was/is and amazing undiscovered goldmine in the future of cryptocurrency meets mass adoption. The early days of Steem had us onboarding people who were crypto curious or just interested in the blogging platform and before you knew it many of us held other tokens and had accidentally become crypto literate, by using Steem and being exposed to it, while doing things we already knew how to do.

Despite sign up issues, whale wars, drama and other factors for a long period of time we saw growth and we were quickly accomplishing what others had not.. Onboarding mainstream users, rewarding them for doing tasks they already knew how to do and helping them learn to buy, sell and trade crypto.

Absolutely Beautiful!!!

We then hit a grueling bear market, personalities and conflicts in the vision.
Now we are here...

What Now?

The people need a currency that is not being hijacked by Global Leaders, they need a place to share their Quarantine Stories and they need a project they can work on at home. They need to connect and share information that is being overshadowed by a hysterical and centralize mainstream media.

Opportunity:

Are we going to waste this opportunity fighting over ideals?

Steem and also Hive have the ability to be a place where people learn about crypto, share ideas, stories, blogs while learning about crypto.

It has the ability to cut out centralized control systems in News via citizen journalists.

It has the ability to create a brand new model in Music/Game distribution.

It has the ability to publish and track education projects in a time where people will be home schooling and seeking new tools.

It has the ability to be an independent social economic society, for earning, living and creating without regard for viruses and quarantines.

If Bitcoin is the exchange of value without third party intervention, we have the ability to exchange, music, information, education and social experiences without third party intervention.

Why are we always focused on our own internal affairs to the point of blocking out other opportunities.

3,8 billion people currently use some form of social media, and we are worried about perfectly meeting some crypto criteria?

@whatsup

Sort:  

Yeah, after SF 0.22.2, I completely stopped suggesting for people in the real world to experiment with Steem (or now Hive) because the drama has been repulsive and toxic... which is a shame because this would otherwise have been a perfect time to recruit people who suddenly have tons of idle time on their hands.

Every time I think of the total misalignment of focus during the last 2 months, I can't get this GoT scene out of my head... "The common people pray for rain, health, and a summer that never ends. They don't care what games the high lords play." ; -)

That's an appropriate quote!

Power plays spring to mind. Neither side is exactly me benevolent, although what JS did with the exchanges and takeovers has riled up more people than the pretty bickering that's always occurred. You made a good point with the crypto side and that's what's keeping me from powering down so far. Decentralised is indeed a great ideal, but we're pretty used to living in a world with restrictions and surviving. I am curious to see what JS does with Steem.

I'm probably going to mostly be on Hive, because that's where my communities are and I know I'm going to struggle to maintain two social media sites. I will keep looking in here as much as I can, though. More have started behind or are posting on both than I previously thought would.

Are we going to waste this opportunity fighting over ideals?

Most likely.

It seems we are waiting until the third dog comes along and snatches the bone. But I still believe the third dog is in the house already but ego and shortsightedness prevent people from seeing the bigger puzzle.

I still think Steem has an opportunity to be that jumping in point for crypto for the masses..

Still interested in seeing where it ends up..

I think it's perfect that you'll do it on hive because all your content won't be censored for sure. It's cool to share stories when many audiences would interact to it. I don't think you can't find those audiences here.. #realtalk

When I see Hive focus on any goals outside of it's own existence and trashing Justin Sun. I might be interested the tech is great.

So far I just see wanking.

What the biggest shareholders do with their stake impacts the whole eco-system profoundly. Do they use their stake to support minnows, on-board new users, deploy curation groups and keep developing the user-interfaces to make things simple and unlock the potential of the platform?

I was not overly happy with Steemit and the group of OG's. I also have a lot of doubts about the situation now. But I think the competition from Hive will naturally enforce the current leadership and large stakeholders to act in the way that leads to a best possible outcome for Steem. If not, it will eventually become a ghost town.

If Steem wants to survive, it just needs to do better than Hive (or other alternatives that will come up eventually).

very true, if steemit will just ignore those numbers of people who left and continues on thinking how they can earn. Yeah, steem will be gone for sure because no one would continue on writing or posting content here when you don't have supporters. Like in hive, most whales in steem are there already. Maybe the stake holders can only earn that much because they already have big SP. If steemit will ignore the reality, they will eat dust for sure in the future.

So far I just see wanking.

Will you consider it doing to mine. lol Just kidding, anyway let's not just focus on how they're discouraging sun but focus on the people who are not bashing him. There are many content that talks not just about Sun I think.

I dont mention Justin at all. Don't care honestly....

But I do believe in getting away from the 'history' of Steem. It's a shell of what it used to be...Not saying HIVE will solve everything, but it's nice to get a clean start.

Lots of awesome people creating over there, not all Sun bashing :)

Clean start? More like a "community division".

Still I'm hoping that Steem & Hive can come up to solutions that will make "mass adoption" a reality for the crypto world.

It would be cool, but way too much ego and pride running around unfortunately :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75