Why meditation is the most important habit to maintain

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Why Meditation is the most important habit to maintain

With so much endless change and fluctuation in my life, I find it hard to maintain certain habits. I often go through bursts of inspiration to work on something or to study something, to exercise or meditate and somehow without even noticing, I drop it after a week or two or maybe a month. I try not to feel guilty about it but in the back of my mind I wish I could focus better.

3ED3B4D3-E426-42E6-BB82-FB9715A9B301.jpeg
be nothing, be everything

With a sudden and unexpected change in location, job hunting, suddenly having lots of friends and activities, health problems, money problems, writing, music, steemit and promoting my work, it became all too easy to forget about meditation.

For the past three weeks I’ve been in a sorry state. A heavy cough caused my muscles to tense up and put unbearable pain on my ribs. Last night, due to literally not being able to focus on anything else, I realized I could meditate, and so I do.

I did it laying down because I don’t usually fall asleep so easily and because the sitting posture causes tightness. I became no one for about an hour. Then I got up with much difficulty and fell into another fit of coughs. It hurt so fucking bad.

I decided to do a stretch I had been scared to do because when I did it I felt as if I could pull a tendon, something which I had done before. I somehow knew that this particular tendon could handle it and so I stretched anyway. Experimenting on my body is nothing new to me. The lack of any real tangible help from western medicine on a diagnosis of “???” as well as a few terrible chinese doctors and chiropractors at times have left me with no other choice. In any case, I kind of know what I’m doing now.

So as I’m stretching I hear a crack and suddenly the pain is much less than before. I may have stumbled upon the reason my back problems have improved so slowly, as well as a stretch that will accelerate the process.

I find that any time I spend a little time being no one, everything in life just kind of falls into place. Those troublesome issues don’t just disappear, and I don’t magically heal or manifest money in an instant, but I will almost always get a pang of inspiration that leads me to more comfort and happiness, or at the very least peace of mind.

When I am nothing for a little while, I can be everything. I slip out of those little habits, those feelings of lack, those fears, those doubts, all the patterns that don't serve me.

I am not sure if I will be able to maintain my goal to study for an hour every day or write at least a page a day on average, but I know if I keep meditating, I’ll keep moving forward and feeling better and better.

—-

If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
I also teach English, beginner Mandarin and beginner Japanese, find my on discord or leave a comment if you are interested in studying.
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)
Sort:  

Great article with interesting information

Thanks for the head ups. Haven’t done any meditation for ages but that’s definitely something I should take up again. And I will!!

Glad to be a reminder!

Ah.. finding the source..........excellent!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Because you meditated, the stretch worked.
Without meditation, the stretch may or may not have worked.

It is really hard to explain this to people, because most are indoctrinated into this scientism, everything is matter, view of the world.
So, to them, you do a stretch, and it works or it doesn't, based only on the stretch.

But, in meditating, you aligned your body closer to the perfect body that your body wants to be. And thus, when you did the stretch, your bones snapped into place, and the pressure on your muscles and nerves was relieved.

I wish everyone would meditate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76