You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Top 10 Reasons That Atheists Do Not Want To Believe In God (In My Opinion)

in #spirituality8 years ago (edited)

God sent his only begotten son (John 3:16) to save us and Jesus was persecuted and crucified over doctrine. If it is good enough for Jesus to argue (and die for) doctrine (he did) then it is good enough for me.

Don't give me any of this watered down Jesus is 'only' love doctrine because Jesus and God have told us that there are things that they hate and their wrath permeates throughout the bible.

Proverbs 9:10 - The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.


Matt 10:34-39 (Jesus speaking) - Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword. For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. And a man's foes shall be they of his own household. He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

The sword is the word of God. It is our only offensive weapon, all other weapons are defensive. The bible tells us to believe and defend the word of God by staying true to the word no matter what our itching ears hears or what so many false teachers tell us.


Christianity's biggest problem is that not enough people read the bible daily.

Ephesians 6:10-20

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.

Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;
And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;

Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.
And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:

Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel,

For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak bold, as I ought to speak.


I know what you are trying to say brother and I don't want to debate doctrine with you, believe me. However we need to keep it real and true to the bible.

The apostles argued over doctrine and some of them died doing so. Maybe it's time for us to follow them, and Jesus?

Sort:  

I debate doctrine one on one with Pastors or others behind closed doors. I just refuse to touch on it where others might see/hear and back out of a potential decision for the King. Let's speak out boldly for the King, not fight among ourselves.

Let's speak out boldly for the King, not fight among ourselves

Amen to that part!

I touch on the subject that you are bringing up in THIS POST

I have nothing to hide so I speak openly and boldly, often to my own detriment.

Jesus didn't hold secret counsels so why should we?

Disagreements about doctrine can still be handled in love.

Doctrine (or teachings) should be accurate.

It is the lack of love that is often demonstrated in disagreements, and attempting to gain proper understanding by debating doctrine is not wrong.

when was the bible written and how do we know this date is accurate?

Good question - the first written text that we read in todays bible was written by God (IMHO and as far as I can tell according to scripture).

Hit me up on chat if your question is genuine. Your other comments suggest that don't you seek truth.

Whose truth?
My truth, your truth, the popes truth, the truth of science, the truth of the pope, the objective truth or what has really happened?

There is only one truth

you caught me, i was trying to stir up some cognitive dissonance and start a little debate.

however my question is genuine, how can we be certain God wrote the bible personally?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59