You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Next Big Thing is You

in #spirituality6 years ago

The whole post was good, but man that intro... If you ever find yourself doubting your ability as a writer, re-read those first two sections. You totally drew me in and had me excited to see what comes next.

Loved everything else you said as well, especially those Goddard quotes. My plate is a little full right now, otherwise I'd totally dive in and read one of his books. I've listened to hundreds of hours of Abraham-Hicks so I feel like I have a solid basis for understanding most of what he's saying just from the quotes, but I should probably do my due diligence and read him in depth. Next time I get some down time.

Resteemed to hopefully get some more eyeballs in this hidden gem.

Sort:  

Thank you man! I just realized I wasn't following you today, I thought you just hadn't posted in a while. I gotta check out your vids tomorrow, any tips btw? I just got a stand for my phone, gonna give it a shot when I have time!

If you ever find yourself doubting your ability as a writer,

Haha I read through and had two typos... (Edits quickly)

Ya check it out when you can, I haven't really applied it well yet, but going to be giving it an extra effort this year.

Thanks for the resteem, I really appreciate it, I'll hit you up in discord when I get on there

I gotta check out your vids tomorrow, any tips btw?

Biggest tip right now is just to focus on living an inspired life / looking at life in inspired ways. If I just try to write or shoot, it will come out dry and lifeless. But if I think about what's exciting me about life, or ideas that I'm really passionate, all of a sudden I have a strong drive to create.

Specifically for vids: lower your expectations. There are a billion things you can perfect when it comes to videos. It's just orders of magnitude more expressive than the written word. But just keep it simple, and trust that just being yourself is enough for now. You will improve as a person over time, so your videos will improve both because you're getting better at making them, and because your self improvement shines through. Content is really just a means of documenting and expressing the things you are creating/contemplating in your own life, and video is one of the purest ways to capture that journey.

One of the things I noticed in creating my latest vid "A History of Stupid" is that the absolute terrible video quality didn't even matter that much. It was almost like an 8bit video game, where the lack of quality actually added a desirable feel to things. So quality of the product pales in comparison to quality of content.

Always great connecting with you!

It was almost like an 8bit video game

Haha nice! I better watch that one ;)

Thanks for the tips man, I really appreciate them. I've been time crunched so haven't got to them yet, but that's probably just an excuse because I'm a bit scared to start haha

because I'm a bit scared to start haha

Knowing that is half the battle. Maybe you could even make your first video about being afraid to make a video. Lots of people experience that and can relate (including me). So your courage would stretch far beyond just yourself.

Thanks for the encouragement @joshbillings, it's appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61