ecoTrain Question of the Week: “What was one of the most profound spiritual moments of your life?”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #spirituality7 years ago

"To sing means to sense and to affirm that the spirit is real and that its glory is present". - Abraham Joshua Heschel
IMG_9572.JPG

My earliest memories of self include sensing that I have always been a spiritual being, not connected to religion or parental guidance of any kind. It came from within. In my favorite photos of myself as a young child I can see the sense of wonder I carried around inside. I have tried to keep that and pass it on. Not so much in a religious sense. Religion and spirituality have always seemed like two very different things. The most confounding part of this topic is that I find myself questioning what spirituality actually means.

I guess if one defines a spiritual moment or experience as a moment in time when the lines between self and the universe blur, I can think of two times. They were very different in essence. One involved a room full of people singing together a hasidic melody and the other happened during an intense one on one conversation about God with the guy who was my first boyfriend. Both of these things took place the same year. I was 17 or 18. The fact that I was so young makes me wonder if it is even possible to experience these things later in life. Is it connected to our brain development and chemical balances present (assuming no outside drugs...)? I don't know. Perhaps there have been other times, but life and parenthood and stress have covered them up.

SInce I have been thinking about this, I began looking up some Hasidic Chants or 'nigunim' to share with you. I have not been successful in my search. All I can say is that it was a relatively simple melody and as is often the case there are two parts and one usually repeats each part two times. In a group there are always some who can harmonize which of course adds to the beauty of the experience. This particular time, we had a visitor who was himself a famous Mizrachi singer - Solomon Bar. He passed away a number of years ago I believe. This video includes a good reflection of his music:

He exudes a deep spirituality that was of a different color than what most of us ethnically Western European (Ashkenazi) teens were familiar (or totally comfortable) with. By the way, "we" refers to a mix of secular and religious Jewish teens up in Tzfat in Northern Israel, in a small hotel overlooking the setting sun and the Sea of Galilee. It was a retreat focused on breaking stereotypes and engaging in dialogue with 'The Other'. - Back to the melody. - It was already one I had memorized and sang to myself at home sometimes. It was one that groups of us sang together when we met on a rare Saturday evening at a friend's house. This time was memorable. First he listened. He listened and he watched us singing. He gazed at this room filled with a group of young people that would normally be arguing with each other or worse, refusing to even be in the same room. And here we were, boys and girls from various parts of the country, various religious backgrounds, singing together. Coming together as one in a melody without words. More of a rainbow of voices really. He joined in with his drum and then with his deep, deep unique Arabic accented voice. And together we sang. At one point I was smiling so big I don't even know how I managed to keep singing. This went on for an incredibly long time. It felt that we had all blended together beyond our physical bodies. The sound became its own being with a life all to itself. And the sound radiated energy back to us and through us. He was accompanying us with a drum. That was the rhythm of the universe playing along. We all melted into one. We touched eternity. And reality was blurred, but more real than real. That's how it felt. Slowly, slowly the drumming slowed down. Somebody coughed. Gently we came back to ourselves and to the room, still smiling. I don't think I was alone in sensing that together we had created something very special that would always reside within. And it has.

Now that I have done a bit more research, I came across another quote from one of the great Rabbis, Abraham Joshua Heschel mentioned above. I don't have it word for word, but he defined spirituality "as the place where God and man meet." Interesting that my own definition is really just a paraphrase of this. Do we all sense it the same way?
Here is a link to one of my favorite weekly radio broadcasts when I am lucky enough to catch it. Even if you don't listen you can learn a bit about this teacher. https://onbeing.org/programs/arnold-eisen-the-spiritual-audacity-of-abraham-joshua-heschel/

I don't think I will tell about the second experience. This is long enough. Maybe I'll write about it another time.

This isn't the same as the melody we sang, but it didn't seem right to leave off without sharing a taste of some good hasidic music.
Enjoy.

As always, I welcome your comments and thoughts.
Peace.

Recent highlights from ecoTrain can be found here.
https://steemit.com/spiritual/@eco-alex/what-s-trending-on-the-ecotrain-today-read-the-most-popular-inspirational-and-original-posts-from-14-passengers

IMG_4413.JPG

Sort:  

Singing, music has such a beautiful presence in Israel. Not that i have been there but some places in India are called Tel Aviv :-) I remember the most lifting bhajan evenings with angelic hebrew voices but i also recall the most amazing musicians that were never shy to try playing with me. This is the part i like most about the Israeli's, will not speak about the other parts, has nothing to do with this post :-)
But singing as a religious happening, yes, i love bhajan or kirtan evenings and the 1 time out of 10 it is really spiritually uplifting overshadows the 9 other times. Nice post.

It would be an interesting post to compare a bunch of different cultural examples of meditative melodies. While looking up a few things I found a video of a guy here in Boulder (an Israeli who probably toured India after army service) who organizes and plays kirtan music events. I might have to check it out someday.
Yeah, I learned to love public singing growing up there. So many memories include singing together.

This may be somewhat tangental, but I feel like sharing this personal story because your description of how your younger self had these spiritual moments helped me to recall some of my own.

When I was in Kindergarten at the age of around 5-years-old, I had a majorly rude awakening when the teacher showed the class a model of the skeleton. I caused a horribly embarrassing scene in the class because my reaction to seeing it was so emotional. But thinking back after all these years, I believe the reason I started crying was because it was the first or one of the first times I realized that I wasn't purely spirit but both man and spirit--body and soul.

Anyways, loved your post and am glad I noticed your presence. Following you now! Have a blessed night/day!

I never thought about what an impact that could have. I love this share of yours. That's a big deal. I will probably fall asleep tonight thinking about the implications of that realization for a young child. Sounds like you have figured it out and made peace with both :) Thank you so much for reading and commenting!
I will be telling my kindergarten teacher friend about this.

I think religion means which can give us peace and by through we can get the power of good judgement... Your article is also very informative.. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for your interpretation. Peace.

It's my pleasure friend!

thanks for sharing this @icmultitudes! And im listening to the Chassidic singing now.. What you experienced sounds blissful and reminds me of how it feels to sing bhajans.. To feel so unified and in the moment is a special gift.. im happy for you that you were able to feel it!

lovely post!

I could sing melodies forever. Except the cats don't seem to like it, heh heh...

It is amazing to be able to see and feel what you did before and how you felt at a younger age, also seeing that in others. I too have never been a part of any strict religions, just finding trust within myself and the universe.

In Israel its difficult to escape the Jewish culture if not the religion. But I don't think of myself as religious. Definitely not strict! But I enjoy having a frame of reference, honoring family history, that sort of thing.

I love this. First thank you for the music. It's not music I have been turned onto before and I immediately loved the first one. I can see how such music could drive such a beautiful experience. I have not got to the second one yet.

What really caught me was "In my favorite photos of myself as a young child I can see the sense of wonder I carried around inside. I have tried to keep that and pass it on. "

I remember as a child being aware of this ...wonder and also remember around 1st grade or kindergarten being keenly aware that this was something that most if not all adults lost. And I vowed that would never happen to me.

I just thought it was interesting. I wonder how many other children feel this way...

I want to hear more of this music! Its fantastic.

Glad you enjoyed the music Tim. I didn't always enjoy it but grew to love it.
I must have made the same vow. On occasion it drives my girls crazy, but I think they appreciate me anyway.
We should go ask to survey a few kindergarten classes.

Always enjoy your comments Tim, and appreciate that you take the time to communicate your wonderful observations :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70963.77
ETH 3821.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47