Daily Sadhana- Short and Passionate VS Long and Dogged

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Standard-Im-bored-in-Korean.jpg

Lately my practice has been very, very short and sweet. Creativity and creating a new life through action and shifting attitude and perspective have taken a large part of my daily practice time. Please see this post I wrote about rigidity in your daily practice.

Are you on day 111 of your 120 commitment, chanting limp and lifeless?

Today I found my body moving into my daily warm ups as a matter of habit. As humans, our brains are constantly trying to create habits so that our mental power is free to focus on more important things like creating. When we do something out of habit, we are not really present in what we're doing. Making coffee is like that for me. I don't have to think at all about what I'm doing. I'm off creating my new day in my mind.

But what about our passion? I believe that our passion makes a kriya so much more powerful. For right now, I'm choosing to keep my sadhana open with a feeling of passion. I'm choosing new kriyas that may change every day that I feel passionate about on that day. Lately my passion has been more focused on my creating. I find that I need much less meditative time behind my action.

Today I did three minutes of Right Nostril Breathing with complete dedication, focus, passion, and bliss. All of my energy was focused in that three minutes. Which do you think is more effective: three minutes of intense, passionate focus, or 62 minutes of lethargic, dreaded chanting?

Is habit and dedication and working through resistance good sometimes? Yes. The point is, work with yourself. Be your own guru and take this job very seriously. Listen for what's most beneficial for you to do. Longer isn't always better.

Today I want to invite you to follow your passion in your practice and give up any dogmatism and superstition. I invite you to bring your practice to life. I invite you to be joyous in your practice.

Image Source

If this post helped you and you're feeling generous:
Litecoin -> Litecoin address.jpg

Ethereum -> Ethereum address.jpg

Bitcoin Cash -> Bitcoin cash address.jpg

Sort:  

I think there might be some good still in 62 minutes of lethargic, dreaded chanting, but the 3 minutes of mindful, active stuff is also good. I'm not sure! What do you find?

Both have their place. I just don't want people to become dogged in their practice. Passion and eagerness and enthusiasm are important.

dreaded chanting

Especially since some meditations will bring up a sense of dread, and that's part of the healing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52