God Is Love

in #spiritual6 years ago (edited)

The following passage is my wife's favorite passage of scripture. Many Christians also feel this way. It is not easy to do, and can only be done in the power of the Spirit of God. It is a high mark for which all people should aim.

1 John 4:16 tells us that “God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him..” We know that we are supposed to be loving and Paul tells us in no uncertain terms that without love, anything we say or do even if we are gifted in fantastic ways is meaningless.

“Though I speak in the tongues of men and of angels but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all that I have, and if I deliver my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.”

Now, let me make sure I understand this. St. Paul seems to be saying that I can be an eloquent preacher of the gospel, with my worship services broadcast by satellite around the world, but if I have a heart full of hatred and indulge in character assassination, I am a bunch of noise. I can have my Ph. D. in nuclear physics, be a Nobel prize winner with several books to my credit, but if I’m not able to relate to my family, I’ve accomplished nothing. I can be a world class athlete, totally committed to being the best I can be, but if I care not for others, my gold medals are a sham. Is that what St. Paul is saying? Gee, I can think of some people who are not going to want to hear that. But here is the first thing St. Paul says to us: The only excellence that counts in life is excellence in love.

I can't say I am completely successful in acting out this more excellent way, but I see it as a goal worth pursuing, how about you?12036583_879442355474668_7366144025922493004_n.jpg

Sort:  

The life of the world is very beautiful and able to amaze the eyes, but all the beauty that exists in the world ,, all collected in you O solehah wife.
If the first word of love and words sayang just a word without meaning, different things with now, all words said it feels so real and make life more meaningful.
Every time I look at your smile, this heart is like flying. Every time I look at your face when sleeping, then love and affection is soaring and hoping to always be there in every dream of your beautiful
Success and success in every affair that I do, all not purely from my hard work, but because there is you my wife who always give me hope when the world leave me

Very nicely said!

thank.once please visit my blog yes

He who does not love does not know God, for God is love. 1 John 4:8

The Greek word for love, agape is by far the one that appears most frequently in the New Testament. Agape means to love the undeserving, despite disappointment and rejection. If we are the children of God, then we must love others they way God has loved us, even if they seem unlovable.

I just read your intro. I am excited that you are a Jewish believer. Through DNA studies both my wife and I, but her especially have huge Jewish ancestry. We feel blessed!

What a blessing to have both a natural ancestry dating back to the patriarchs (Abraham, Isaac and Jacob), as well as being a born-again child of God and spiritual seed of Abraham who have been grafted in and partakers of a covenant relationship with the God of Israel.

Excelente tema que nos enseña la humildad y el verdadero valor de lo que somos de nada nos sirve tener todo en la vida si Dios no esta con nosotros. Recordemos que la palabra dice "Y ahora permanecen la fe, la esperanza y el amor, estos tres; pero el mayor de ellos es el amor.
1 Corintios 13:13"
Dios te bendiga.

I love God is Love, and this special moment in time pic of us with Oona!! 😍

Yay!! You with little Oona Lynx <3 love you both

Thank you for sharing. Even if everything is not going according to our own plan we can see God's hand in our life and things are going according to his plan which is much better. Thanks for sharing a beautiful Bible verse. I live in Korea but I can be inspired by your message.

you're right @revdocwelch! With love we have cover the rest commandment.

Great post! Something that it is incredibly easy to struggle with. Lies and deception are everywhere, disguised as holiness or truth often! I love that fact that we are so imperfect and continually seeking God to fill in the gap for us. It makes me look to him often throughout the day, and humbles me that he would think of me and remember me even a tiny bit.

Hi, that's what we do without love, it does not work out, let's delight in God's Love and everything will turn out well. Thank you for this post and blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39