I haven't made any spider posts for a while...

in #spiders5 years ago

jumping spider.jpg

That needs to be remedied. Today, I finally managed to catch this little cutie. Jumping spiders are an all-time favourite of mine but they are extremely difficult to photograph because they see so well and tend to crouch down in unflattering poses, like in the second picture, which gives an better idea of how small this little one is. Jumping spiders are territorial so this one always hangs around in the same area but for once, it was prepared to face me and pose. I got this shot in before the photobombing queen turned up and screwed it all up for me.

jumping spider2.jpg

The reason they are so difficult to photograph is because they have two sets of eyes in the sides of their heads so their visual field is huge. Then I got sidetracked reading about the fact that those tiny little spiders are capable of seeing the moon in the sky. Don't believe me? Read about it here: https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2017/06/jumping-spiders-can-see-the-moon/529329/

From there, I got sidetracked reading about twins that are formed when 2 sperm fertilise the same egg and the evening went downhill from there. If you feel like disappearing down that particular rabbit-hole, the article is here: https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2019/03/these-twins-are-neither-identical-nor-fraternal/584092/
I'm not a spammer, so I won't paraphrase both articles except to say that if you enjoy weird science, you'll love those

Sort:  

I wish they had a longer lifespan most only live 2 years max. I had one as a pet for a while that i found in my building lobby a phiddipus audaux. I tried filming it but it kept jumping on the camera

Posted using Partiko Android

So cute! That's why they are my favourite

Haha! funny 😁 The Mario theme suits well here.

You and your camera did a fine job.

En verdad la arañita, se ve estupenda en su foto, pero hasta allí. No me gustaría encontrarme con ellas, no son de mi agrado. ¿Porque los gatitos siempre quieren ser ellos primero en todo.?

The gatitos know that they need to come first ;)

Yes he is cute; from afar where it cannot jump towards me lol.

They are completely harmless. You should give them a try

No thanks; just the thought of it gave me the shivers. Each time they jump; I would jump too.

This guy is so small, I would not notice him at all!
How could you spot him in your dark glasses?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have an eye for spiders

Nice photo of a jumping spider. It was probably hard to catch the moment when he is in one place.

Great photos !!!
Yes, it is a pity that they live so little ...
I didn `t know about it.

I friggin love the Spides...! True Story

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79