The great outdoors

in #catsofsteemit5 years ago

kat4.jpg

Katia my little photobomber likes to come and join me when I am walking on the hill although she goes by herself when she's in the mood to hunt. Then she comes home with small rats, lizards or birds to torture.

kat3.jpg
What's under that rock?

I belong to some online cat forums and anytime I mention that my cats go outside whenever they please, I get told that no true cat lover would ever allow that. It is true that indoor cats live longer and I have had a cat run over in the street at a previous address but my five cats would never get along if they were confined to the house and I would have endless behavioral problems to try and solve.

Then I am told that "cats murder wildlife". In the absence of other natural predators, I can't see that my cats have caused a population decline of the reptiles and birds in the area and at least they keep the rat population under control.

kat2.jpg

I consider my cats responsible for finding my dream home: if I didn't think of them when I was house-hunting, I would not have looked in this area because most of the houses here are very expensive. I tried it on the off-chance because I thought that a house on the hillside would be great for them. I never thought I'd get the place that I did at a price I could afford.

I am happy that they have a life which is relatively close to their natural feline instincts.

Sort:  

Great photo!
But the expression of your cat: "just try to enter my territory !!!" :-)))
I liked your answer in this post!
I know how you love cats, and that you take good care of them!
And then, cats are all different and instincts too.
My Persians, most likely, on the street and the day would not have lived.
They are not adapted, they do not know how to hunt, and so on.
And my parents, cats also walked freely and were alive and well.
What matters is where a person lives, what and who surround his house.
And, in the end, you know better, you know your cats better than others !!!
And about the fact that "cats kill wildlife", for me it is just ridiculous !!!
The main who "kills the wild nature" - so it is the PERSON !!!

:) Exactly

Very nice cat who loves his freedom!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They are very happy here

This cat probably loves being photographed. She looks so elegant.

This cat probably
Loves being photographed. She
Looks so elegant.

                 - nilpan


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Very pretty cat... she shows up really well against the red rocks!

Our cats are pretty much "indoors, and outdoors only with supervision" because of the number of predators in our area; too many coyote packs, occasional cougars and eagles around here. When the new people down the street moved here, they had three indoor-outdoor cats; within three months, they had ONE indoor cat... the survival rate would undoubtedly be higher if they were local and semi-feral, but still.

Happy Caturday!
=^..^=

Fortunately we don't have serious predators here, I'd also think twice if it was like that

Happy Caturday to you!

Spoken like a true lover of her animals. The cats will bring back the love ten fold. :-)

I have to agree with @curatorcat. In the MADNESS that is my outside world. Sammi Jo & Jessi would not stand a chance.

I will not judge you, as only you know what is best in your world for the cats that you love.

I have seen how horrible people can be, who do not love them. And i see many of them dead out here on the highways that i travel.

We care for a pack of castaways that are beating the odds and surviving all the dangers outdoor life throws at them daily. Check them out when you get 10 min. The Black Cloud Ferals. https://partiko.app/@krazzytrukker/iy3uhnr9

Posted using Partiko Android

Mine are all ex-ferals so they live to go outside. I'm not blind to the dangers that await them, though. I'm grateful that my place is relatively safe for them

There is such a huge difference between Feral and Non Fer. We have seen it first hand with our Black Cloud Gang.

Sammy Jo is psycho enough She would have a chance of survival. But Jess would not last a day

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93