AdemT - Speculator, Contrarian, Author, Black Swan Watcher, Complexity Theorist, AntiFragile Investor - has made it to Steemit

in #speculator8 years ago (edited)

("")

I am a 25 year old millennial that, contrary to the crowd and 99% of individuals I have met in my life, is a gold bug and dangerously contrarian.

A little background:
I graduated high school in 2009 after witnessing the complete destruction of the 'snob' life in Scottsdale AZ during 2008. I became obsessed with trying to understand booms and busts, or rather bubbles and collapse.

"How did all the experts and our government let this happen," I thought to myself, "why did everyone fall for this bubble in real estate?" I had to know.
I began investing. As soon as I turned 18 I dragged my father to the bank and opened a brokerage. I didn't know what I was doing, but during 2009 everything was trading at near all time lows - buy low and sell high, right? Thus I researched and bought the most oversold and pessimistic sector - biotech. And long story short, by 2012 just as Ben Bernanke unveiled QE3 (printing money monthly), those stocks soared. Krispy Kreme Donuts and Acadia Pharma were up over 20x.
I quickly sold - and tried replicating it. "Buy low and sell high, again" I told myself.

In 2013 gold and silver were collapsing. Just in time, as I was the only 22 year old who even knew what the price of gold and silver was. Millennials couldn't careless unless its Ecommerce or Tesla or social media or 'environment saving yet debt crippled' businesses. Thus I gained a huge competitive advantage by studying mining stocks. Instead of everyone chasing Apple or Netflix, I could take my time and evaluate and buy stocks before the mania took hold.

But Soon after, my dad died. And I was on my own. Even though I should have felt depressed and broken, I have never felt more motivated. Flashforward and today I am researching and investing in mining stocks, writing contrarian and value articles, publishing short stories and poetry, studying financial history and offer Risk Management (antifragile investing and investing for a Black Swan) for investors in this complex system we call life.

What I've learned? Governments make everything worse. The crowd acts irrationally. Paper money is the root of all evil. Millennials are in for a rude awakening.

I look forward to Steemit and its community and hope individuals learn from me, and I from them.

Published Work:
I am the sole writer for my website Thoughts of a Speculator(https://lonewolf.liberty.me/) and have various articles published on many investing sites.
I gained a small following especially on my TalkMarkets(http://www.talkmarkets.com/contributor/AdemTumerkan/) account.
I wrote the short story and poetry book, Stitches.

Sort:  

Welcome! Can you provide verification somehow with a steemit photo or a post about Steemit in any of your social media accounts or blogs? Thx! Look forward to hearing about your investment strategies!

I made a shout out for Steemit via twitter under RadicalAdem

Confirmed thx! Look forward to your insights!

excellent post!

Thanks maykor15, excited to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13