Teddy's User Manual: 2 handed head scratches

in #specialneedscats6 years ago (edited)

Hello! My name is Teddy and I have nerve damage in my spine and back legs from when I decided a car engine would make a good bed. ( It doesn’t )

For the most part I’m fine and I get along alright. Because my back legs don’t work so well there are some things I need help with:

Head scratches

My ears get SUPER itchy guys. Like seriously. I'm at the mercy of whoever can come past and give me a scratch. I do scratch my head on the corners of furniture but sometimes I need more.

Enter the 2 handed head scratch:

IMG_5358.JPG

IMG_5359.JPG

IMG_5360.JPG

Ah So good!

Method:

Standing behind me put your hands on either side of my head and run your thumbs along my face starting at my nose and going back to my ears. Repeat until I'm no longer itchy

For more info on how to take care of your special needs cat check out my longer User Manual post

Happy #caturday
Teddy

IMG_5361.PNG

Sort:  

Lovely! And s/he looks so relaxed... You know cats are amazing. I once had one that had to have one of her back legs amputated. She climbed trees and did all sorts of amazing things. Scratching her ear was something she also needed help with!

Oh shame. Yes they're really resilient. Teddy is fearless and will climb trees if he gets a good grip- much to my horror. He has crazy upper body strength and loves climbing to the highest point of the couch and launching himself off with no regard to his back legs.

Jou katjie het voorwaar die beste Mamma :)

He has you under his thumb, that little bit of ginger says it all. Smug little face enjoying every moment of love @simplylizelle

Oh definitely 🙂

Ag nunu, he is a little warrior! And who doesn't like a good head massage!

Watched the Video of Teddy in the Garden, regardless of the damage he looks like a Happy Cat , Nice post.

Thank you :)

Humans sure come in handy. :-)

I love this, what a family.... Steemit on...

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

So how does the cat manage to go on the litter box for example. No hunting either.

He actually hunts flies quite well. He isn't paralyzed, his back legs are just weak so he needs help with his balance. He does better doing his business outdoors as he needs a bit more space. As soon as something puts pressure on the injury site it causes his legs to react almost like a reflex which makes him step from one foot to the other, and he manages to keep his pose while peeing but when the pressure is gone he falls over. I'll see if I have a video and will share it to my sola account.

I'll have to take a new video of him but here is one where he's playing in the garden. https://sola.ai/posts/NTkxNzB/?r=simplylizelle

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51