Teddy's User Manual: the guide to life with a special needs cat.

in #instructions6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4886.JPGHello ! My name is Teddy and I have nerve damage in my spine and back legs from when I decided a car engine would make a good bed. ( It doesn’t )

For the most part I’m fine and I get along alright. Because my back legs don’t work so well there are some things I need help with:

IMG_4807.JPG

Grooming:

I can’t scratch my own head so please do this for me, especially when I’m pulling a funny face with one ear back.
I’m good about getting my nails clipped if you put me on your lap, facing away from you.
When brushing my face, support my head with your other hand.

Litterbox

My legs twitch when I’m having a poo or a wee. If you’re there when I’m in the litterbox you can help by holding the end of my tail to help with my balance.
I need the litterbox 3 times a day- First poo is at 6:30 sharp, First pee is at 7 am and final pee is just before bed time around 10 pm.
Make sure my bladder is empty before you leave in the morning and at night or you will need to clean whatever I was sleeping on. While I am perfectly capable of peeing by myself, if my bladder is full while I’m asleep it tends to escape on its own.
I’m very good about letting you express my bladder should you feel it necessary. Just make sure to support my back end either by holding my tail or putting your hand on my stomach. I prefer having the tip of my tail held up as this helps me balance.
Sometimes after having a poo I fall into it and need to be wiped down. Baby wipes work well for this. Help me stand up by holding my tail close to the base while you’re wiping.

Pain
IMG_4872.JPG

If my leg is shivering it means I am in pain and likely banged my knees on something.
I’m not really aware of my legs and will jump off of things without thinking twice.
If you see me biting my foot when it spasms try to hold me down until the cramp passes. Sometimes flea bites, grooming or simply laying wrong can set this off.
The magnet pad helps if I sleep on it but you have to disguise it by putting something else on top.
I’m also good at taking medicine, just make sure I’m sitting down first.

IMG_4880.JPG

General

I tend to flail about it bit when you pick me up. Just hold me firmly and I’ll settle down.
I LOVE fluffy blankets or gowns and will lie in your arms like a baby if you’re wearing the right kind of gown. Just putting that out there.
I also love boxes and catnip.
When we’re outside I yell loudly if I can’t see Flash, even if he’s just behind me.
The sound of plastic bags sets me off running around and attacking the closest scratching post.

Getting me into my carrier: Good luck with that!
Have someone hold the carrier in the air so it is the only thing I can climb into. Or put me in butt first.
Flash is also bad at this and he cries like a baby when he’s in a car. I don’t.
To get us out take the top off of the carrier.
IMG_4879.JPG

And finally, if you need videos of how to do these things, go to my Instagram or Facebook accounts- The Story Of Teddy.
Hope that helps!
Teddy


Sort:  

I am low on SP, so I will return to upvote. I would like to feature your post in my Shoutout Caterday Post. I hope this helps give your story more views.

Thanks so much! You're welcome to share your post link here as well :)

Ai siestog Lizelle, die arme katjie kon nie vir n beter mamma gevra het nie!

Baie dankie Lizelle 😊

Love you guys for loving Teddy and Flash. :-)

Thanks Mike :) Its a set of instructions for his cattery mom where they will be staying for 6 months until they can join us in Mauritius. She is wonderful and I really hope the cats adjust well.

O boy, best of luck of all that is going on.

I looked up Mauritius. Interesting destination. Is this a permanent move?

images.duckduckgo.jpg

Ooh, purdy. Yes that's it. We're going over for 18 months at this point. Will see what happens after that but I want to take the cats along. Its hard to find a home for Teddy because of his special needs.

Good luck, looks like a very special place.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-18T19:08:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 151.45/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

aw meow, I'm happy to see teddy's got some lives in tact :)

one such sweetheart, hobbs, recently suffered a misterious spinal injury, we're hoping for him to recover, my heart goes out to you much love.

Thanks Lanmower.

Oh ho! I hope they can figure out what happened with hobbs and that he gets better soon. If he can tolerate it, acupuncture helps a lot and I highly recommend doing physio to keep up his muscle tone.

Wow that's really cute cat you have... 🙂

Thank you :)

Argh I love what you guys are doing for little Teddy much love thank you been trying to save SP for a bigger upvote heres my %100 of what I got.

Thanks Simonjay :) That's very kind of you

Poor little guy! But he can have a good life as your cat!

He has such a lovely temperament and just loves life.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33