You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project 1000 - Spanish Words - #11 [ENG]

in #spanish8 years ago

el rastro → the trail
la caja de cambios → the Gear Box/Transmission
el azogue → Mercury, Hg (archaic Spanish)
recriminación → recrimination
titubear → to hesitate (stutter is "tartamudear")

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback.
I checked again some translations http://dict.leo.org/ and it shows me, el azogue can be quicksilver or mercury, I assume mercury fits better ?
I changed recriminación from accusation to recrimination,as it is probably more accurate, same goes for titubear, but in my opinion el rastro can be both flea market or trail, e.g. I remember the famous "rastro" in Madrid.
I also left translation for la caja de cambios according to this translation http://dict.leo.org/englisch-deutsch/gangschaltung
Where are you from ? Gracias !

Of course that "el rastro" can be a flea market. Just as "the dog" can be a grocery store!


Gear shift is a literal translation of individual words, the conjunction of both define the part of the car. NEVER translate literally, that is what google translate does (thus the awful quality of the output).

PS: I'm native bilingual English-Spanish

But of course, you can always use a dictionary that never had to speak instead of trusting natives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28