You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: De encuentros y desencuentros.(Relato)

in #spanish5 years ago

I'll answer you in English, but it should be in Spanish (lo siento). There is a certain sense in your story that is not captured easily in translation, I think. The contemplation of your protagonist on the inevitability of time, and her all-too human denial of its inexorable toll--these preoccupations bring to mind Unamuno, an exquisitely Spanish writer. Universal sentiments, but I think some languages express certain emotions more fully.

I do think Quevedo is mistaken: Some of us anticipate age all of our lives and when we arrive we are not surprised. It is a sense Unamuno captures, that youth is shadowed by an awareness of its transience. He is one of my favorite writers, in any language.

Anyway, a wonderful piece. You are truly an artist.

Sort:  

Hi! @agmoore.
Good comment.
Have a nice day!

Hi!
You have a great day!

Muy agradecida siempre con tus alentadores comentarios @agmoore. Interesante tu reflexión acerca de la frase de Quevedo en contraposición con Unamuno, saludos!

Again, I have to upvote you a little later in the evening. I bring to this comparison the advantage of age...I have reached a certain age and can look back :)

Y si tal vez la traducción, distorsiona un poco el sentido que se le quiso dar al relato, pero igual agradezco y valoro tu interés por leerlo y tu esfuerzo por comprenderlo...

Thank you, @oscarina. I have to upvote you later...my 'power' is low now. Sometimes Spanish is difficult for me to read, but yours is always very clear. I love it!

No te preocupes @agmoore y nuevamente gracias por leer y disfrutar de mis historias... Saludos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43