You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Evolution of @pleasestop

in #spam6 years ago

Keep up the great work, @pleasestop! I've seen lots of your comments today, and I'm all for bots like this one to help reduce the amount of spam comments here on the blockchain.

The new comment looks a lot better by the way. The previous one got a little too big at times :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your support, I really appreciate feedback like this to affirm my work. And yeah, that comment was plainly absurd to be honest!

What is great about this? He is being the worst comment spammer himself, spamming completely off topic for the post and owner.

I disagree with that statement. I guess that really boils down to what you define as spam then. A bot that notifies all spammers is great news to me, because we sorely need something to make spam less frequent here on the Steem blockchain. I hope this bot make some of the spammer reconsider their behavior and start creating original content instead of copy-pasing the same comment to hundreds of authors.

Well, doubling the spam up with a reply won't do any good for the storage problems, so I agree on disagreeing with you on that.
A bot answering the spammers do make a blockchain load themself, but downvoting the spam without notifying is also pretty useless.

It is no solution but a short temporary fix to feel better.

You make a good point regarding the storage problems. I don't fully understand this issues to be honest, so I won't try to debate this :)

It is no solution but a short temporary fix to feel better.

The problem with the spam right now is that no one seem to have a perfect solution, which is why I support both bots who tries to make people aware of the spam (such as @pleasestop), and @steemcleaners and the other projects that downvote spam.

I support @steemcleaners as well, they do a great job both informing and reducing the spam.
Remains to see if @pleasestop manage to up his service to a level of wide acceptance. I think he might, but may be he need some helpers as this probably become too big a task for one man and a bot. The spam he aims to fight is also very much a newcomer situation, where you got few followers and try to get your footprint inside community many look for the easy solution of saying HI by commenting posts and ask for a follow or upvote.

Issues about storage mainly appears because we are decentralized to a degree, and copies of everything is stored in each node.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63