You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I run @sadkitten so you don't have to - dealing with massive amounts of spam

in #spam7 years ago

@personz, this makes me super happy to see-- THANK YOU for undertaking this initiative! Also thanks to @transisto for delegating voting power to @sadkitten.

I know from past experience that this kind of activity can destroy a content site in short order if left unattended... not only does it drain the site financially like a small but constantly bleeding wound, but a lot of visible spam also slowly drives away legitimate users who don't want their content associated with garbage... so you end up with a "double bleedout." Whereas there is no central structure to "go bankrupt" here... developing a bad reputation as a spam repository could easily land us all with 5c Steem eventually... and I don't think any of us REALLY want to see Steem related to the ranks of "yet another shitcoin."

Anyway, you have my (very small) witness vote.

We should really have some kind of "multi level alert system." For example, this morning I came across someone who was (as an individual) spamming the same comment on dozens of posts... clearly not READING anything, but just using and refreshing the "NEW" feed every minute. Clearly, an individual-level problem, not a network-scale problem. As a small account, I can burn a little voting power on simply flagging the comment on MY post... but what about the 50 identical comments? I have 250SP... "that don't go far."

Sort:  

Thank you for this 😊 I believe you are right, we need to take action. I've heard from some other people that this happened to some other platforms in the past.

I'm going to be working on an AI to feed into this once it is well tested enough that might be something like an alert system, perhaps one component of one anyway. You'll see a post if I get that far 😁

Thanks for the witness vote!

I wrote a post today about what I'm doing against spam at the minnow level. I also voted for you as witness and resteemed.

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@fitinfun/steemit-what-do-you-do-with-your-spam-comments

I'm a content creator who came here to get my message out. I do not like to see any nonsense on such a good platform. I need to be able to recommend that my content creating friends come here and show them a good atmosphere when they check the place out.

It's hard enough to get going here without fighting the "Nice!" comments. I really appreciate everything you are doing. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50