How To Combat A Hostile Spammer

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

I've been having alot of run-ins with some hostile spammers on here, and it's becoming a problem. If you are tired of the spam, check this post out.

My encounter with a hostile Steemit Spammer @kaib:

Since Steemit is experiencing a recent boom in new accounts being made, which are mostly spammers and spam bots, there are going to be a few spammers in the bunch who are hostile and are flag happy. Now recently, this has been a problem for me.

Sometimes I don't understand why some people have to be so hostile. This guy @kaib is a spammer that was feautured in one of my spam reports by a steemian named @kapetanic, who has had multiple run ins with this guy, and this guy is not only a spammer, but a flag happy one at that.

So here's how everything started: Now this guy @kapetanic has an encounter with this dude @kaib who makes little to none of any original content, so he basically copies and pastes most of the time, so @kapetanic told @kaib that he should post original content, and now @kaib has been downvoting many of his postings more no reasons just because the dude is made.

So @kapetanic explains to me about how the guy wasn't making original content and how he should make original and creative content that will be appreciated more on steemit, but this guy just gets mad and flags this dude because he was trying to correct this steemit noob. This isn't how you deal with people, people. So this guy is just downvoting a bunch of @kapetanic's stuff because he is salty. Also, the dude @kaib is not only a plagiarizer but a spammer as well.

So this guy gets mad and flags people for pointing out his wrongs and is a heavy duty spammer. So after I mention him for being a spammer and called the dude out, he flags a lot of my comments and posts. And he has the nerve to say "Go piss and sleep little kid". What a mature adult we have here. And people complain about my generation, but it seems like the older generation isn't the best either.

Screenshot from 2017-08-25 18:32:01.png

This dude is flag happy and acts like an angry 5-year-old who didn't get his candy. So basically this guy is telling me to screw off in so many words and is flagging me like crazy. Not like his flag affects me that much, I still don't want to have this dude doing that to me. Especially when I don't deserve it.

He flags almost all of my comments/posts...

Screenshot from 2017-08-26 09:41:08.png


Screenshot from 2017-08-26 09:41:11.png


Screenshot from 2017-08-26 09:41:17.png


Here's some pics of him spamming:


So, this guy is really a problem on here. Me and @kapetanic have been flagging him, but we need help.


How to combat a hostile spammer:

  1. Gather evidence and screenshots of them flaagging you for no reason, spamming, or verbally harrassing you. Save them on your computer.

  2. Flag them, then make a post bringing attention to this person. Get as many people you know to resteem it as possible without being a spammer or begging.

  3. Send me the screenshots and context of the situation, and I will post about it and include your name for credit and the spammers name so people can flag them if they want.

  4. After that has been done, don't engage that person, just wait for things to blow over.


-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

48c26af7876d069419fb91ecd8bc4513.gif

Great tips for helping stop spammers. Hope @kaib gets what he deserves and learns his lesson

I saw at some point some users who just try to identify spammers and people that are just copy paste content (so for not original content).

I can't remember that names unfortunately.
Maybe it will be good to have that people who do good to be in a list somewhere where we can report such cases.

I think next time when i will find one i will put a bookmark.

As i said in another post regarding that problem, that's the problem with totally decentralized platform.
For this abuses people must have the power to resist to such cases and go on. But with lot of spammers doing that i don't know who will resist forever.

Maybe things like that are reaching the devs and it can be a solution at least for slowing down that accounts... :-(

Back...

I just found one post with somebody who search for spammer bots accounts and try to slow them down.

Maybe he can be helpful in some way.
I'll put below his post regarding that issue:

So I just flagged a spammer with ~3400 accounts voting numbered comments.. — Steemit
https://steemit.com/spam/@ausbitbank/so-i-just-flagged-a-spammer-with-3400-accounts-voting-numbered-comments

I haven't found yet the one with targeting unoriginal content.

Hope it helps a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42