You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The best way to promote your book - get the spy agency to ban it

in #southafrica6 years ago

Super Kiligirl at it again! I must say you never cease to amaze me. Just when I thought investigative journalism was dead. A great new book comes out that exposes the truth?
This can't be right, nobody in journalism speaks without forked tongue do they?
Welcome to more love for the people and corruption from the top down! Is that what they mean when speaking of the trickle down affect? Sorry that's is economics! So confusing these days trying to keep up with all of the baffoonery in politics!

Hope it's a good read!
Love You! Ellie Mae🐓🐓

Sort:  

Hey there, my friend, I am so looking forward to reading that book. The excerpts had me on the edge of my seat. We're going to the launch on Wednesday night and I assume the author will be there, along with half the population of Johannesburg (so we'll get there early). The publishers have said they'll print another 15 000 copies. This has really got the whole country talking, and one of the things we're talking about is how much we appreciate our investigative journalists. By the way, one of them has joined Steemit (@chrisyelland). Sure, his stuff is mostly about South Africa, but if you want to watch an investigative journo in action he's a fox terrier of note.

We have a group here called amaBhungane who have been poring through what they're calling the "Guptaleaks" - thousands of leaked e-mails which show just how the Guptas and Zuma have worked together for years to gather their cronies to the project of state capture. We're still not free of it, but my goodness, this book will go a long way towards pressuring even the captured state entities to do their job and prosecute the bad guys. Love your analogy of trickle down economics - here it's more that the ordinary taxpayer gets the privilege of seeing his or her taxes going into the Zupta pot!

On another note, I was so sorry to learn this morning of another shooting in the US, this time in Texas. Please give me a bit of a geography lesson - I understand Sutherland isn't far from San Antonio, but is San Antonio close to where you grew up? Texas is a big place....

Oh, I have a temporary website up! It's just a quick thing while I put together something more substantial, but with the business cards I picked up on Saturday, a website and a company e-mail address, I might start looking respectable.😜😜

I saw you've posted a lot since I last read your stuff! I have a lot of catching up to do...while reading The Book.

Love you too! Hope your Monday starts off awesome and the week gets better from there.😘😘

Lot's of turmoil in the works right now in high political seats. Look what is happening to the Saudi's also. The royal family connected to anything bad?

It has to stop. These people must be held responsible for their crimes.The world could use a bit of character and virtue, integrity, honor.
I am glad this writer has joined steemit. Will follow up on that.
Yes, about Texas. Flying into San Antonio later this month. Not thrilled about the flying part, some relatives there still. Have you noticed how these massive very sad shootings tend to occur when the dems get close to being found out? Sorry but I believe it's a ploy to throw reporters off the scent of the real issues.
It makes me mad that innocent people lose their lives in the process.

Better note. Is your website outside of steemit? You must be getting very close to closing in on one of your goals? Yes?

In case you missed my little note on a post. One of my friends just told me she is a cousin of Georgia O'Keefe. She is very artistic also. Painting, weaving, Native Indian afficiando. Wow!

Your niece @lynb writes a good post. I am so glad she jumped on the steem wagon.

Great to hear from you my friend. Much Love! Ellie Mae. 🐓🐓

Hey, you're right, Ellie Mae, the Saudis are doing a cleanout for corruption too. I don't know enough about the place to understand what's driving that, though, and I can't help but think that power struggles between factions (families?) might be at play. But since I know close to nothing about the place....

Yup, my website (well, a static landing page for the moment) is out there in the wild. I know I'm getting closer to converting some of these leads to something more, but there's still a lot of work to do before I get to signing contracts (that's kinda the nature of the work).

I saw that note about the cousin of Georgia O'Keefe! That is so cool!! I'm behind (again) on my reading, upvoting and resteeming.

Thanks for connecting with @lynb. She is a gem of a person.

Tomorrow's a busy day, starting before sunrise. Hope I get a chance to post - today I spent time on Thando's post (talking about @scienceguy) and saw you had commented on his last post! Thanks for connecting with him as well. He's an important person in our lives.

Much love back to you! 😊😊

Forgot to ask you what is going on in many parts of Afrika concerning the plague? Extremely deadly and infectious. Look at the WHO for info on where to stay away from. Your Friend 🐓🐓

Oh my gosh, what a week it's been! So sorry for the silence. Hope things are going well for you, Ellie Mae.

Have been a bit under the weather and uncharacteristically falling dead asleep in the afternoons if I haven't been at client meetings. This is my first chance to sit properly in front of my keyboard and reply to you, my friend...😳😳

Re the plague, as far as I know, it has hit Madagascar quite hard. I picked this up from the WHO site:

"From 1 August through 30 October 2017, a total of 1801 confirmed, probable and suspected cases of plague, including 127 deaths, have been reported by the Ministry of Health of Madagascar to WHO. Of these, 1111 (62%) were clinically classified as pneumonic plague, including 257 (23%) confirmed, 374 (34%) probable and 480 (43%) suspected cases. In addition to the pneumonic cases, 261 (15%) cases of bubonic plague, one case of septicaemic plague and 428 cases (24%) where the type has not yet been specified, have been reported (Figure 1). As of 30 October, 51 of 114 districts of Madagascar have been affected (Figure 2 and 3). Since the beginning of the outbreak, 71 healthcare workers have had illness compatible with plague, none of whom have died."

I don't have any plans to travel to Madagascar in the meantime! The plague did reach parts of South Africa but has been held in control (we have pretty good medical services here, particularly at international airports for picking up whether people trying to enter the country have fever - if so, they get packed off to the medical centre a the airport).

Anyway, suffice to say it's not something which is worrying us much in the Joburg suburbs, although of course we're concerned for the people who contract it and their families. Four days of a runny tummy, on the other hand, is something I could really do without, particularly since I'm leaving for Lusaka again tomorrow! 😜

We've had some excitement over the book I posted about last weekend - I'll share that story shortly. Quite amazing stuff. And of course I've been reading the book, which means I haven't been reading Steemit posts...😱😱

Look forward to reading your last week's worth of news and catching up on the girls! Hope all is ok in your neck of the woods. 😘😘

So sorry to hear you have been feeling punk. That is never fun. Glad you had a good book to keep you company. Hope you are feeling well enough to travel tomorrow. Looking forward to reading your review of the book. Love Ellie Mae🐓🐓I have missed you my friend.

Same here, Ellie Mae! Would have loved to have had some tea with you over the last few days. I'll definitely be well enough to travel, as our local partner has lined up at least ten potential client meetings for us! And none of this business of sleeping in the afternoons, which is completely unlike me.

I did manage to hold it together for Johnny Clegg's final concert in Johannesburg last night (amazing what the prospect of going to a Porta-Pottie in that condition does to your ability to, er, hold it in, wouldn't you say?). The concertwas an awesome experience and I'm thinking about putting up a short post about it - although I was too busy enjoying it to take lots of videos and photos....

Thanks for being there even when I wasn't making any sound. Much love to you, my friend 💗💗

Oh No! The dreaded port-a-poti. What more can we say about that. Yuk!

Can see you are still working on things as you are here and then gone again. Much luck tomorrow with your work my Friend. Looking forward to a cup of tea with you. Hope it will be soon. Love Ellie Mae🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06