MY COUNTRY SOUTH AFRICA - PART 4: 5 Desserts to Try in South Africa

in #southafrica6 years ago

This post was created for the Hello Hello Group Task 11Traditions and Cultures

1 MILK TART
Milk tart is a dessert consisting of creamy custard like filling in sweet pastry crust. It is amazingly delicious no wonder its South Africa’s favorite!

image.png
Flickr


KOEKSISTERS
This delicious treat come is two varieties the Dutch and Cape Malay they are both great for tea time; however, many people have them as a breakfast treat on a Sunday morning. They are essentially fried dough covered with sweet syrup. The Cape Malay variety is covered with desiccated coconut and has a spicy flavour.

image.png
Dutch Variety: Wikipedia Commons


3 MALVA PUDDING
Malva pudding has a caramel taste thanks to the apricot sauce it is mixed with. Malva pudding is and sticky and soft spongy cake texture. It is best served with cream, custard or vanilla ice cream. This Cape Dutch pudding is a definite winner.

image.png
Flickr


4 SAGO PUDDING
A perfect winter dessert is the Sago equivalent similar to tapioca and rice pudding. Sago pudding is made from mixture of boiled sago mixed from milk, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. It is finished with apricot jam and egg whites meringue. Unfortunately no good free pictures were available - Please follow the Link for image


5 BREAD AND BUTTER PUDDING
Bread and butter pudding is a British invention, but made with a Cape Town and is usually served with either hot or cold custard. The Cape Town twist comes in the adding of apricot jam to their bread, for a wonderful fruity flavour. Please follow the Link for image


Thank-you! Thank-you! You have all been awesome for reading my post.


Information Source:
https://theculturetrip.com/africa/south-africa/articles/the-best-cape-town-local-desserts-you-need-to-try/

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Impressive and yummy dessert of your country. Do you also make them at home Philinda? Cakes are your speciality. I enjoyed reading your post. Take care and stay blessed!

I can make them, but I am too busy to make them so I order from my friends and community member that do it for me.

Hi Philinda, Greetings from #HHG11! Yummy!!! I'm in love with all of these treats. I wish I can find it in Kuala Lumpur hahahah. Thanks so much for sharing this great traditional dessert of your country specially for #HHG11. I am really impressed with your work. I hope to see more good contents from you. Take care and Stay Blessed!

I made a lovely sago pudding for my daughter... ;) I forgot to take pic to share the recipe and process...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54