Sourdough Starter

in #sourdough6 years ago

I have tried a few different types of sourdough starters and non of them seem to work for me.  I found a super simple recipe for sourdough starter and I though I would share it.  

Sourdough Culture 

1 cup flour

1 cup milk

Leave milk in a warm place for 24 hours.  Stir in flour. Leave in warm place until it bubbles and gets sour. Cover with saran wrap

That is it!  Now when I did this recipe I didn't cover the starter. The recipe didn't say to cover it.  It still made sourdough starter.  It was dry and thick but it still went sour. I decided to refresh it and cover it and then I had the bubbles that the recipe talks about.  In my recipe I used milled flour and then sift it through my size 40 sifter.

To replace sourdough culture

1 1/2 cups sourdough culture

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

Mix together.  Do not use for 24 hours.  The longer you keep and use sourdough culture, the better it gets.  If you can't use the culture for a while, freeze it.  When you wish to use it again, thaw the culture, then wait 24 hours or until it is bubbling well.

My mom didn't believe that you could freeze the culture so she took some of mine and froze it.  It was frozen for about 2 weeks.  Last week she pulled it out of the freezer and thawed it.  She thought it was bad because it wasn't bubbling.  I told her to refresh it and it is perfect. 

Sort:  

This is very easy and simple. Nothing is better than that. :) Just curious, 1) when replacing sourdough culture, you don't need to first leave milk in a warm place for 24 hours, right? 2) You can't taste sugar in the bread after replacing sourdough culture, correct? Thank you for sharing this recipe!

No, when replacing the sourdough the milk can be right out of the fridge. Rob says he can't taste sugar in the bread.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Thank you. I guess sugar has been consumed by the yeast in 24 hours.

That is possible.

That sounds so easy! I'll have to try it. I've never used milk before when making a starter.

Let me know how it goes. It is very easy.

Thanks :)

I love sourdough bread so yummy!
Following!

My husband loves it too! Thanks for your support

That looks like the rotis we prepare here in India with jowar flour or with wheat flour.
Rotis are even prepared with finger millet which will have brownish color just like the one you have shown.

We don't use milk and other stuffs, we use it with the stuff prepared with green chilli or chilli powder and then other vegetables or cereals.

Thanks for sharing.

That is so cool. It is so wonderful to be able to share these ideas. I do love to learn how others do things. It gives us an understanding of other places and people. Then we can bridge the gap and enjoy all the beings of this wonderful planet. We can achieve the same end goal just go about it in different ways. This is what I love!

Thank you so much for sharing this knowledge.

Exactly, the same thing is being used by people from different locations to prepare items which will have a different look and taste.

I am not much into discussing the food items, but your articles gave a chance to me to do that.

Have a nice day :)

We need to bring back all the old ways of cooking. Here at least it is all about packaged meals and we hardly have a meat department in the stores as an example. People here don't know how to cook real meals any more. I sure hope it is not like that everywhere but here in Canada that is the way it is.

I am so glad we have a chance to chat now and then. Have a great day!

People here don't know how to cook real meals any more

Well, India is known for good food, foreigners who visit India, always savor the Indian food especially the non-vegan food. But vegan food is also much appreciated. As we discussed, roti, similar to the one you explained is the main course for us, which is used with curries.

With regards to rice also, we have different types of rice prepared. If you get a chance, you can explore on Indian rice items.

Thank you very much I am always looking for different recipes. I will look some up, I am sure there are some on the internet.

Great!!. I think we discussed too much on this. Happy to know about your recipes, your culture and above all, about the farming.

Have a nice day :)

Thank you, this looks really simple for a first starter try. I will start it tomorrow! Does it matter what type of milk you use? Cheers <3

No it does not matter. I actually had to use store bought milk because my goats are not milking right now. Let me know how it goes.

Thanks

Great! I will, thank you so much:)

Your most welcome!

Thanks for stopping by.

Your recipe for sourdough starter is so easy compared to others. I have seen others where you use fermented fruit to start it. But I would think that you would end up with the bread tasting like the fruit...

I found it very easy. I tried a recipe with grapes and was very unsuccessful. I spent a long time looking for a recipe and then found this one in my cook book that I have had for years.

My sister uses a recipe very similar to yours @carey-page but I'm sure yours looks easier. Love homemade bread and its much healthier for us too.

Thanks for the comments. Yes sourdough bread or sourdough items are healthier.

Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for passing on such good recipes. I'm am great believer in home cooking and know that our family is a lot better off for it. Time spent in the kitchen is time well spent as far as I am concerned and I love to see the younger generations catching this vision too.

I agree time in the kitchen is time well spent. It is wonderful to add love to all that is cooked and or baked.

My pleasure!

How did i miss this!!!????
I am mixing/starting it tonight!!

Well I would imagine you are quite busy. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

This looks simple enough! I have tried sourdough cultures and not been successful. I didn't know you could freeze it if you couldn't use it. Wonderful idea! Thank you, now following you!

Thank you for stopping by. It is simple. I recommend it to anyone. I never thought sourdough could be so easy. Freezing it works so well. Hope you enjoy. I will check out your blog. Have an awesome day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99