It's time for SOUP CHALLENGE #1! Theme: Potatoes

Let's get another challenge started here on steemit - and let's find a way to celebrate SOUP!

soup challenge #1 - potato.jpg

Week #1 has the prompt of POTATO for the main ingredient - they're in season and should be available to most folks, either staying safe in a root cellar or on sale at your local grocer/co-op.

How to Play:

  • Use the #soupchallenge hashtag
  • Use at least one good photo of the finished product
  • Make sure you have the theme/ingredient as the MAIN focus
  • Provide some sort of recipe, or instructions, or link back to the website you were inspired by
  • Get it posted by Sunday night
  • Include it here in a comment if you feel like it

Then what happens?

  • I'll put together a digest post

... and that's about where we are right now. No (direct) prizes yet, just a great way to build community, share recipes, and get inspired to make something delicious!

My Soup, pictured above

This is a yukon gold potato soup with green kale added. I don't really measure things out, so here's how I made it:

INGREDIENTS
Yukon Gold Potato
Green Kale
Coconut Milk/Cream
Broth/Stock/Water
Salt, Pepper, other spices to taste
optional: Parmesan Cheese to top

Chop up however many potatoes you want and add water. If you want a creamier soup, barely cover the potatoes with water/broth. If you'd like a thinner soup, add more liquids. Remember, you can always add more liquid after the potatoes are cooked down! I added equal parts homemade chicken broth and water, plus sea salt and rainbow pepper.

Cook until the taters are mushy. If it's too close to mashed potatoes, add water. Chop up your kale and add to taste - I probably added about 15-20 leaves of various sizes. I also included the stems. Continue to simmer until the kale softens up. Open your can of coconut cream and add to the soup. Then take an immersion blender to it, and puree until smooth. If you don't have one and feel like putting into a blender, go on with your bad self!

Bowl it up, add some Parmesan cheese if you have it, and enjoy!

Thanks so much for reading & I look forward to seeing more recipes - please upvote and share to help spread the word.

Sort:  

Cute idea of having a soup challenge and a great way to warm up this winter! Maybe I will make a soup with potatoes this Wednesday when I post my weekly recipes series article! Thanks for the inspiration!

thank you - would love to see it included on wednesday!

Great idea for the #soupchallenge and blending in the kale that way!

thank you! i am perfectly fine with leafy greens in soup, but sometimes i just want something warm and thick to hold in my hands and sip on.

Congratulations @twinislandflames! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Quick, easy, and hearty! Pretty, too...

Great idea for a series and I'll see what I have on hand to whip up a batch of sumpthin'-sumpthin. Potatoes are my favorite. I usually do a version of my Mom's, but for a challenge, I'll try to step up my game.

thank you!

i'd love to see what magic you can create, especially when it's based off of a family recipe. those are some of the best!

We just finished off a batch of scalloped potatoes with ham, so this is going to take some thought.

I was just contemplating making soup myself, but it's summer here so I decided to go for salad instead. This looks delicious though and is making my mouth water!

Love this idea. There are some many great recipes ariund a digest will be a wonderful way to collate them.

i'll be doing tomato here soon, to help my southern hemisphere friends out - gazpacho, anyone?

although honestly i've never had that and cold soup kinda freaks me out. isn't it just a smoothie? i mean, really?

Hmm, vegetable smoothie? 🤔 Cold soup seems too weird to me too. Then I'm from England originally.

Here is my entry to #soupchallenge 1

Thank you @twinislandflames for the inspiration!!!

thank you for joining in - the more, the merrier!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63