The Story in the Dark

in #soundinthedarkness6 years ago (edited)

There is a story in the dark. Its out there. I can feel it, sense it. Untouchable but cannot be ignored. Do you hear the story breathe? A wispery distraction.

Its not new. The story. I've know it is there, in the dark. I told my mom when I was little I heard my story in the dark. She dismissed it as childhood nonsense. I told my best friend her story is in the darkness. She pretended to hear. I told my first love our story could be heard in the night. He didn't understand.

This story in the dark has clouded my light. An insistant hum. Concentrating, peering into the void seeing nothing. I hear the sound of darkness. A tap of reality. The story impatient. It becomes louder, knocking. Needing to be told.

I stand still. Ready now to hear. The noise shattering the dark. The story unfolding into light.

@nananini 08.24.2018
Thank you @jeezzle for hosting this writing opportunity. Can't wait to read all the entries.

https://steemit.com/soundinthedarkness/@jeezzle/writing-contest-what-s-that-sound-in-the-darkness

Sort:  

Thanks.

You have collected good stories so far for sure.

I can hear the sound.

I knew someday someone would.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82