Soonidrifts Best Shot Contest 2: Minimalism Photography In Laguna Beach

in #soonidriftsbestshot7 years ago (edited)

When I first saw the photo contest @soonidrift, I was hoping there would be something I could use already in my catalog. I'm soooo happy there wasn't!! This was an entirely different type of shooting for me compared to what I've done in the past. And I love challenges!

Here in Laguna Beach, during the summer months, there is a trolley that will take you around town. Earlier this afternoon, I jumped on the trolley and went for a 3 hour stroll through town looking at it like I've never seen it before.

The goal for these shots today was minimalism. Less = More

DG4A5935.jpg

Canon 5d Mark IV - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens
1/160 sec at f/1.8 ISO 100

This one is hands down my favorite shot of the day. Brought into Lightroom, but found that I liked the raw version of it more than anything I could do to it, so here's the unedited version of that shot.

colorful-divider.png

DG4A6004.jpg

Canon 5d Mark IV - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens
1/1000 sec at f/t5.6 ISO 100

This shot was down near the beach. You can faintly see the moon on the left side of the photo. My goal with this one was to give you that feeling that you were at the beach away from the crowds on a perfect day.

colorful-divider.png

DG4A5914.jpg

Canon 5d Mark IV - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens
1/1600 sec at f/1.8 ISO 100

And my final submission into the contest is a wire with very full pigeons that have been feasting on tourists' leftovers near the beach. The ground was covered with their droppings. I feel bad for any of the cars that parked under them!

Well, those are my submissions. Best of luck to all that entered this week!

Oh and I made a video for a behind the scenes look at all these shots so that you can see the wider angles of where I took them. I'll edit that tonight/tomorrow and try to get it up by tomorrow afternoon.

Sort:  

Very nice shots! I like the story behind them too! Best of luck!

Thank you so much! It was certainly a fun challenge that opened my eyes to whole new form of photography.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by brendanwenzel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Awesome Combination of Travelling with Photography and Person with Sense of Humor and explanation Skills !!! Very Impressive !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48