Oh mighty advertisement revenue!

in #soon5 years ago

Everywhere I'm looking at lately in the centralized world I am seeing accounts getting demonetized, banned and copy-striked. It seems like the world has gone insane in my eyes. How they do anything their advertisers require of them without giving two Steem about their loyal content creators. Imagine having worked hard on your channel and videos, and to instantly get your income source that has taken you so long to get to slashed completely. Yes, they keep undoing their decisions every now and then when it's a big user that starts trending on Reddit, but the majority of the platform that has their voice unheard. They are getting killed out there, not having enough of a following to make it back up quick on another platform. I can only feel sorry for them, especially when it's being done in some ridiculous ways like someone copy-striking your video you've worked months on just because you had a three second clip from a Disney movie in a 30 minute long video.

IMG_20170809_094103.jpg

Even if the content creator is big enough that he survives on another platform and starts gaining subscribers again, the advertisers rule will still apply in one way or another. Twitch for instance, has been so weird about their bans lately often showing bias to certain streamers not only with who gets banned and who doesn't but also advertising certain streamers onto other's streamers adspace. Even if everything for you works out alright, there will always be that risk in the back of your head, reminding you that it can all be taken away if you just so happen to say the wrong word once. Good luck with those competetive games, streamer!

I don't know about you guys, but it looks to me that at one point a few streamers, content creators, etc, etc, will give blockchain a try, even as just a side thing, but in the end realize how safe it is even if there's just one key keeping it all safe. Much safer than the judgements of hired employees only caring about their main revenue; advertisement.

It's almost like a lot of big giants seem to be showing signs of weakness before the real fight has even begun.

Sort:  

It's everywhere; YouTube, Twitch, Twitter even Patreon which I thought the whole point of was to still earn a living from content that isn't advertiser friendly. With YouTube, there are companies whose entire revenue stream is making copyright claims on content or songs on behalf of their clients, and sharing the proceeds. The problem is that YouTube is so under-staffed that you can copy-strike or copyright claim a video and they don't even question it... unless... like you said, the creator is massive and kicks up a stink.

YouTube basically just wants to be TV now, and get all the advertising dollars. They literally don't care about the audience that came to them because commercial TV was bland... the kids will find something better soon enough, hopefully blockchain becomes their new uncensored home.

Yeah Ive seen years of work wiped away by a single person who didnt like their beliefs or something they said and made some petty report. Its crazy, but these companies are always going to side with caution just to protect there bottom line.

Posted using Partiko Android

hmmm. Just read this post mid-coffee and thought something.

A while back I uploaded a skydive and a bungy jump video on YouTube to share here. I checked not long ago and they'd gone. Wasn't really arsed about it just didn't think as to why. Now I'm thinking it was the tunes the over the top that were added by the companies that made the vids.

How lame. I can't share a personal video that's 20 years old cause of some backing music?

One of the things I love about all the projects on the STEEM blockchain. Dtube especially. A lot of people are taking notice. I personally try and use youtube as little as possible.

I have to believe that free speech and freedom of expression will always win out over censorship.

It's never been safe really, and I hope the more people realize it the better. I never saw myself as one to stick something wholeheartedly, even falling off when consistency and hard work did pay, but one thing I know for certain, big companies like Facebook (instagram's proprietor) and YouTube, have never seen eye-to-eye with creators. As a means to an end, people who produce are just tools , but I hope that the masses will stop taking the slap on the wrist for these giants -- realizing the ball is in their court. It took me a minute, so I'm sure they're on their way.

That's why I hate these centralized platforms, They keep changing their policies according to their advertisers, without even thinking about the content creators, My cousin started working on youtube a year ago and he works hard tirelessly and Completes the requirement of 1000 subscribers and 4000 hours watch time, and when he applied for monetization, They replied now they are monetizing the type of videos he is making :O I can show you 1000's of channels like that content are already monetized. Youtube sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is why i joined steemit @acidyo

I saw some youtubers mentioning demonetization again, I guess some of them did! Upvoted!

I have noticed on several platforms, which in practice ... views-like and follower in most cases is fake .... example on instagram you can buy them, on youtube idem ..... I think that steemit in some way is a good platform .... even if I do not get great grades .... I draw and design for myself .... if I can then give some emotion to others it makes me very happy ... I think that those who create content (inventing something that does not exist) .... becomes original at the same time you post them ..... a greeting

Not just showing signs but they are on a knee!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16