“We have a purpose” a sonnet

in #sonnet5 years ago

sravp727kb.jpg

Sunlight shines on the good and on the bad,
It rains on Saints and on Sinners alike.
Light can guide to beauty, or make you sad.
Rain can bring health, or the lightning may strike.

These are things we simply cannot control,
And some think that we cannot understand.
The striving for knowledge grand to behold,
Spreading love far and wide across the land.

We have purpose; I don’t believe we’re mad.
If so, there is reason in our madness,
Being crazy doesn’t make us all bad.
Being different, shouldn’t lead to sadness.

Some of us are misfits,
Because we won’t be ruled.

“We have a purpose”

by
Jerry E Smith
©10/1/16
Alabama Hills, Lone Pine, CA USA



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


This .gif was created by @elgeko


</center

Sort:  

I really like your sonnets @jerrytsuseer, but not because they are to be liked, I feel they are meant to be felt.

And I feel this one, absolutely.

Seems I remember a while back some frustrations of yours with the VA, frustrations I am very familiar with, and to the point where I am neglecting services that many think would be useful to me.

I learned early in life that I was definitely not a conformist, and although I excelled in the military and left with an honorable discharge, the staff NCO's were in shock when I turned down a lucrative re-enlistment bonus, because my truth, was that it was hell for me, working day after day under the order of the herd minded unintelligent. It was pure misery, but I did what I had to do to get through it, and the collective mind of the world isn't getting any better.

Today I'm a full blown hermit who doesn't like to leave the house. Sad to some maybe, but I am much happier this way. It is not me that needs to change as the shrinks have suggested, it is the state of humanity which needs change.

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement on my writing
@futuremind.
Where do you live? I'm in Atlanta (the 'burbs now) sounds like
We are very much kindred minds. It would be great to meet
Up some time, but then I'm sort of an isolationist as well,
Only I go out to entertain at Senior Retirement venues
As a supplement to my disability income

I'm in Upstate New York in a congested city.

My circumstances are a bit tough for travel right now, and I have many "system based" things I'm trying to get in order, but this could be a possibility in the future @jerrytsuseer.

I do have some plans that entail travel right on path through your location when everything gets taken care of. I would be happy to chat with you about it on discord sometime rather than putting it all out on here.

It does sound like we have kindred minds :)

I like to entertain as well with singing and playing guitar. Lately I just upload my playing and singing to the blockchain, but yes it's definitely very noble and a great feeling to do this for the elderly.

I'm happy to see you have the eSteem app working for you again as well! :)

I am tsuseer#3994 in discord @futuremind, I look forward to chatting
with you. I must warn you though , I cannot stand bells and whistles
going off from either phone or PC, so I don't get notice when messages
come in.
I won't be "Johnny-on-the-spot" in replying, but I will get back to
you on any message.
My "entertaining" for the old folks (I'm 64 now) is for $, but
It is also the only real bright spot in my otherwise very stressful
Existence right now. Since my disability increase, I now don't
HAVE to do it for the money, but I will continue for a while at
Least, just so I can keep that one source of light in my life.

Totally understand @jerrytsuseer,

I have my discord permanently set to do not disturb for the exact same reason :)

I'm also not always quick to get back to people. I do my best, but I have many things going on right now.

I look forward to having a chat when it's convenient for us both.

Take care sir!

I still don't know your discord name, or do I?

futuremind#5073

Cool! I'll send you a friend request, just to get that outta the way.
Thanks

Congratulations @jerrytsuseer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5500 comments. Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90