Soliloquy [1/52] - The Beginning

in #soliloquy7 years ago

matheus-bandoch-113225.jpg

I Literally started my year hungover.

Or to make things worst, I started the year drunk on the stroke of midnight. All through 5am before I collapsed in the comforts of my bed.

That's how I started my year.

I'm glad to say though that i am better off that January 1st 2017. Leagues away from the person i was last year, wiser hopefully from the pain and labor i put over the months during 2017. Looking back, I do sigh with both relief and regret that 1) 2017 is done, 2) I could have done so much. I guess everyone deep down thinks the same everyone in one way or another.

Since it's the first of my weekly review where I am, I guess I'll just get to recalling what I've gone through over the period of 2017.

"I have found “past year reviews” (PYR) more informed, valuable, and actionable than blindly looking forward with resolutions."

  • Tim Ferriss

For posterity sake I want to leave a record of how i have spent 2017, or at least how i felt about each of 2017's months..

January

Jobless, and doing nothing literally. I was duped into a "study abroad" scam, a mixture of my incompetence and family issue has made quit my job back in 2016, not serve 1 of the 2 months notice, got sued by said company, paid the fines, and then retreat into depression as I kept getting delays after delays of the supposed "study offer". Watches movies online on a daily basis.

February / March

To be honest the 2 months was just a blur. More movie binging, not doing anything. I can only live off my parents for so many months as tension rises. There was a week when I was particularly desperate for cash after my savings had all but emptied and gathering dust. Hated myself as i sold 0.015 BTC for $21+ dollars to buy food. Today, that amount worth upwards of $200 (of which I would have used to make more). I'll regret that decision to the day I die. It was the last straw, immediately went job hunting and found a job starting April.

April

2 things started, one, I got a job with a local Drone Operator company. Flying drones as a job in a growing industry. The other, on April 9th, I created an account on Steemit, and wrote my first ever blog titled How to excel in a world where everyone seems to be better than you. which got me $0.96 worth of Steem and SBD.

May

Learns how to fly drones better and more professionally under my employment, also taught my first class of adults (used to teach young kids but its a completely different experience). Stumbling my way around Steemit and the steem blockchain. Also had my first >$100 post about my personal life around a busy food market. If i wasn't sold on the idea of being funded to blog, I certainly am now.

June

Read the announcement on for Steemfest 2 being held in Lisbon on early November. Made it a point to earn enough Steem to fully fund my trip including air ticket. Also got to talk with @bitrocker2020 for the first time and along with a handful of Malaysians, #TeamMalaysia was born.

July

Reached 1000SP and 1000 followers for the first time, then realized that the Steem blockchain doesn't play "the follower game". Did some slight adjustment to the way i see Steem and the whole decentralized social media idea.

August

Begin power down of Steem Power to start funding my tickets and flight. Had my first loan with the one and only Shark of steemit, @neoxian. My birthday passed just like any other day and made me change the way how i see days and time. Every second is worth celebrating regardless what moment it is.

September

Second busiest month in the office. And patiently waiting for the power down.

October

Frantically waiting for powerdown, and then scramble to buy tickets for Steemfest2, also made posts telling people that im going, despite not having any tickets yet. No going back now..

November

STEEMFEST!!!!! I flew back only on the 11th, where I got back to work the very next day, talk about jetlag. I haven't even talked about my trip to Lisboa properly, I really needed to do a throwaway series. I promised so many people pics and vids.. and then didnt got through, bad me.

December

Easily the worst month of the 2017. Tragedy stuck, and my life was basically uprooted in a sense. I dont really want to talk about December 2017.

image.png

The Beginning - 2018

I don't like to set yearly goals because it's too much fluff.. I rather set personal roadmaps and aim for short term goals that goes in that direction. A general focus point over 3-5 years and then set monthly deadlines to achieve so that it'll accumulate. I hope i am doing it right.

Maybe I'll talk about that next week, but to be honest i see 2018 as an extension of 2017, New years doesn't reset anything and doesn't give one a clean slate. There are things i have set out to do in 2017 that i am on my way to reaching in 2018.

1/52 is done, the year 2018 is 2.1% gone.

█▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒

Photo by Matheus Bandoch on Unsplash


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome

Sort:  

Thank you! Someone sees things in my direction too. "New year resolution" and all of that ain't just my thing. Don't get me wrong. I do have plans for my future but putting them in the name "New year resolution" is just really a fluff.

Waiting till a specific day before doing something wont make doing something more effective, if it's really that important to someone, that someone should start immediately. I have maintained the same focus points for more than a year now, things i want to improve, things i want to work towards getting it done. New years or not, Im thinking towards that direction nonetheless.

great to see people are thinking in that frame of mind too. It really trumps the "New Year New Me" fallacy.

wow! that was quite a concise 2017. didn't seem like you really enjoyed your year? :(

do pray that by the time we're at Soliloquy [52/52], looking back, 2018 has been an awesome year for you! :)

I dearly wish that! 2017 has been rocky, tough, and turbulent. Though it has it's good times. I sincerely hope that i can do better for 2018.

you can do it man! 💪

Okey, love to hear more like day stories, not short week stories. But keep on dreaming!

daily? i did consider it but its gonna get awful boring as some of days are literally carbon copy of the other.

A series of 52 post over a year sounds manageable, plus i'd have just enough data pint but not too overwhelming if i ever i want to look back at this year to see my growth.

2017 wasn't a good year for me either! I've got to invest some of my friends money back in 2016 and got lucky finding Steem on Coinmarketcap. I'm moving to Germany now with my family in January so i look forward to an eventful year ahead! Wish you the best success on Steemit man, you're really bringing awareness in the Cryptocurrency space especially within the Malaysian Community. I see you more as a Digital Nomad, so you've got yourself a supporter here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59774.28
ETH 2422.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44