The Old Dog Reports: Something Powerful is Flowering in Ticino!

in #solarenergy7 years ago (edited)

 I have been fascinated to see two of these technological marvels that have been "planted" in a town near my home. Their installation is a collaboration between the "city" of Chiasso and Age SA, a local electrical company.  


This Smartflower has been "planted" in a roundabout near my home.

Smartflower is Designed to Both Look Good And Produce Energy  

The design is an attempt to combine the functionality of solar panels with the beauty of an appealing design. It was produced for those that don’t have the possibility of using a classic roof top solar panel installation and would like something on the ground that doesn’t look ugly!   


Here is another installation where you see the "flower" in the closed position.


A closeup of the motor mechanism which allows the "flower" to track the sun and produce 40% more energy!


I took this shot to give an idea of the size and thickness of the panels.

How Does it Work?    

Its “petals” open with the rising of the sun exposing their 18 square meters of solar panels and then close when the sun goes down. It is also able to track the sun using GPS signals and a low energy motor and in this way it mimics the actions of a sunflower.     

How Much More Energy Can It Produce Using The Sun Tracking GPS System? 

According to the designers the Smartflower can produce 40% more power than stationary panels. According to data the flower is able to produce 3,500- 4,500 kWh a year which would be the energy needed for a complete household in Europe. The idea is to use these flowers even in areas that are not on an electrical grid.    

 Quick Facts About Smartflower  

  • Can be moved from one location to another.  
  • Comes complete with controls, panels and an inverter.  
  • It can be used in both public and private spaces. 
  • It is available in various colors 
  • It has a built in self-cleaning mechanism 
  • The cost is about 20,000 Euros
  • It is produced in Austria  

The "flower" is available in various colors. This photo is from smartflower.com all others are mine.


Here's a Quick Video About the Smartflower

Things to Think About!

  • Do you find the design beautiful?
  • Would you like one for your property if you had the space?
  • Do you use alternative energy?
  • What interesting alternative energy innovations have you seen?

I hope that you enjoyed this article about what is "flowering" in my area!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Great post @kus-knee!

I had had the chance of reading and checking this one out a few years ago as the design was about to come out. It is a marvel of design for so many reasons: compact, movable, sun-tracking and, aesthetically speaking, it doesn't hurt the yes out in nature!

Alternative energies have been close to me for many many years now and have had the occasion of checking out quite a few different systems around where I live. As you know, the force of things makes people very very creative where I live and, while being fiercely autonomous, they tend to move toward means of providing energy in as many ways as possible. That design presented in your post is my favourite of the past many years when it concerns small to medium power needs. It sure would do the trick for me!

Thank you so very much for sharing this brilliant idea, it needs exposure! ;)
All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

I love the design and the power produced is impressive. It would be good to know the longevity and the mechanical reliability. The two that I showed have been in place for about a year and in looking at the companies web site it appears that improvements and refinements have been made.

Thanks for the visit and for your precious comment!

@kus-knee wowza!
very very beautiful ! I watched the videos - it cleans itself? :D
cool.. I wish our solar panels do that, too and looks like this one - flower ^ ^ (women and flowers haha)
just one catch - pretty costly for 12 pieces IMHO
sighs ...

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

You extra vigilance relating to its functionality and longevity is appreciated on this end too, thanks a bunch for the comment and compliment! Namaste :)

When mixing solar panels with art becomes lit! i like the design it's creative and it doesn't give you the feel of usual solar panel.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks a lot for the reward, i really appreciate that, im already following you in a while & sure i will tell my friends about you :D

Yes it is very cool! Thanks for the visit!

lovely and useful! I would like to see it in my city too. but it's far from being possible.

Yes indeed. Why is it impossible in your city? I'm curious!

money. there is no public money for anything beyond normal maintenance and administration.
and private investments from local companies need big companies we haven't.
but there will be local election in may, so in the next weeks I'm going to ask to mayoral candidates what technical innovations and projects they are going to support. ;)

That is really cool. I wonder why it closes it's "petals" when the sun goes down? Why not just leave them open?

To keep warm and safe? Good question.

Yeah, I would suppose to prevent damage from... whatever lurks at night seeking to do harm to solar panels!

That technology​'s impressive. I have always been fascinated by this solar energy technology! ​

I love it too!

The design is really amazing, beautiful!

Yes it's quite the flower!

Love the idea of smartflower @kus-knee. Vedo che sei ancora online.

Ho fatto una piccola pausa vacanziera.

this is Beautiful. Thanks and grazie.

Also today I got the time to find another​ view here in Switzerland's Entrepereurship​. Thanks​ making me a proud co-citizen of Switzerland.

Here was my post https://steemit.com/travel/@andreolf/lugano--switzerland-2018-8-3-13-27-4

Greeting from Zurich
Francesco

giphy.gif

Do you find the design beautiful?
Yes !
Would you like one for your property if you had the space?
Yes I would
Do you use alternative energy?
No
What interesting alternative energy innovations have you seen?
Solar energy and bio fuel
Uhmmm ! that "flower" is installed in your near home, What for this stuff use to ? (for street lighting or something else ? )

They are feeding the grid and in this case it is also advertising for Age Sa.

A very useful thing, and even looks nice. I've seen a few solar panels in our city, but they were usual, like a Billboard. But there is also an interesting design!

Yes it is quite unique!

Wow, that's awesome! #preppers

Yes it is a very intereting design!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55