Honest Review of the X-Dragon Solar Battery Pack

in #solar6 years ago

IMG_20180715_011117.jpg

You might recall a while back that I wrote about my plan to get a little solar charger to charge my Kindle and my phone with, the idea being that my electric bill is pretty darn small so even that small piece being made solar (since I rent an apartment and can't install roof panels or some such) would make a dent.

Yeaaaaaah ...not so much.

IMG_20180715_011006.jpg

Pros:

It's sturdy af. Nokia sturdy. You could totally toss this in a backpack and take it with you to charge your drains-in-a-few-hours smartphone while you're out and about.

It has a decent enough battery capacity that it will charge my Kindle Fire once if it's full, so it should do the same for a smart phone.

As a backup battery, I do recommend.

Cons:

The solar panels do approximately bupkis.

It takes A MONTH to charge the battery to 75% capacity using just solar. I repeat: ONE MONTH = 75% FULL. It even says it's charging in lamp light, so several days I had it in the sun during the day, and by a lamp at night:

IMG_20180715_011028.jpg
that light on the side means it's charging

...and still after a month of this, it was only 3/4 full. That isn't "a slow trickle,"as one review warned, that's one percentage point shy of useless.

As a solar panel, don't bother.

I chose this one because other solar options I could afford were just panels and no battery; that is, I'd have to stick my Kindle in the window along with the panel and charge it directly. Apparently, the po'folk price point means you either get a small battery (this), or a bigger panel (that). It's possible if I went and bought a bigger panel now and plugged it into this battery, it might work as a system, but I don't know.

So if you wanna take a battery with you while you're out hiking that you charge in a wall socket first, it works. If you want to power your devices off grid, it's a brick.

Ya live, ya learn. ¯_(ツ)_/¯ Do y'all have any small scale solar setups that work?

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

That's disappointing. At one kindle/phone charge a month that's going to take a long time to earn it's keep. I'm glad for this review, though - I nearly went and bought one!

I'm glad I saved you the expense then!

A month?! There's no shortage of sun where you're at, taking that long to charge up from the panels is a crying shame and whomever designed that should be ashamed. 😂

Man! That is not a slow trickle charge! That is it's almost dead charging. One Month! I can't wait that long for a charge...

How much it costed you??

Then it will be economical I guess.

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

You didn't upvote anyone.

You yourself got caught by cheetah couple of times. How are you trying to help cheetah??🤭🤭

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Well done @phoenixwren! You successfully guessed the match result.

Finals - France vs Croatia
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon


Did you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81