What Steemit is for Facebook, Sola can be for Instagram. TROUBLE! 😆

in #sola6 years ago (edited)


A few months ago, a friend here on Steemit wrote about SOLA, an app for your smart phone where you can upload photos and share them with other users. Just like with other social media, they can then vote for this photo.
There is one difference: you get paid in SOLA cryptocurrency (SOL) when others like your stuff!
Well, her post sparked my interest so I signed up.
But because I had so much going on at the time, my main focus outside of my private life, has been Steemit, so I left it for what it was. I didn't have the time to look into it really. I don't use Instagram, never have, so I thought it would be too complex for me to look into.
Now I wish I had, because I could have easily done this for a few minutes every day and earned crypto!


source: https://bitcoinexchangeguide.com/sola/

What is Sola?

From their own website:
Sola generates revenue from advertising, user payments and partnerships and splits it with users, providing a strong financial incentive to use the service and create quality content, that results in further revenue increase. The Sola economy is powered by SOL, a utility token with a monetary function, that allows to reward users and sell services in efficient and transparent manner.

Decentralized, immutable platform
Any user can host Sola node on their computer; they’ll receive a reward for each post delivered to the end user. Decentralized architecture makes Sola nearly immune to blocking and censorship, while keeping costs low. Without a central authority, once launched, the network cannot be shut down.

Now, we all like decentralized or we wouldn't be here.
The platform has around 1 million users already, which means it's rapidly growing and more people are starting to realize what decentralized means to the world and are happily getting paid for things they would otherwise do on Instagram for free!

Sola cryptocurrency

The cryptocurrency for Sola is SOL and at the moment it is trading on Tidex, OpenLedger, Idex and EtherDelta.
Its price is $0.012 at the time of writing this, but it was at $0.36 in February and we all know how things can go with crypto so there is always the potential of this coin going up. We've all seen this with Steem and SBD. The market is volatile. Anything is possible.

How does it work?

Now, I am writing this from my own experience so forgive me if I am not completely right.
It took me a little while to figure out how the app works. There is an app for your phone but there is also one for your desktop now, so you can use either.
Posting seemed like a task at first, but I did it, so I'm sure you can too. I needed to get the hang of it a bit but now it works perfectly fine.

When you're ready to post your first card, you click the + (plus) button on your screen.
The app then asks you to pick a source. This can be:
Take photo
Take video
Choose photo (from your files) or
Choose video (from your files)

This is pretty straightforward.
Once you've chosen your file to share, you can drop a few words in the thoughts section.
This is handy enough, but you need to put in enough words to be able to tag and post.
I've kept it quite simple. A few words to describe where the picture was taken and the day is enough.
The app says you can use up to 3 tags, but as far as I can see it only stays on the last tag, but I could be mistaken.
Once you're done with this, you can post it.
It's that easy!

As for endorsing: On your phone, if you swipe up (someone's photo) you endorse it. My understanding is that the more endorsements a photo has, the more viewers it gets.
If you want to skip a photo, you swipe down.
If you don't want to swipe up or down, you simply shake your phone!
YUP! You've read it right. Just imagine what a conversation started this could be when you're on the train home from work or school! 😏

What else do I need to know?

AP or Attention Points are the points you earn when attracting attention to the app by logging in, browsing through, and sharing information outside. You can spend AP to create content and to endorse cards and comments you find interesting.

You can run out of AP. If you do, you won't be able to create posts. You can earn more AP by browsing, sharing the information outside of Sola. You also earn a daily bonus, so it's more or less like our daily voting power here on Steemit. But of course, we can still create content, just not vote.
You can also buy AP with your SOL. I tried this the other day and I bought 200 AP with 4 SOL. Peanuts really, and 200 AP can last quite a long time.

SOL is the cryptocurrency that you can earn for creating relevant content at Sola. When users endorse cards and comments they find interesting, an author gets an amount of SOL equal to an amount of AP, spent on the endorsement.
A card runs for 7 days, just like here on Steemit, so there are 7 days to earn on your card.
I have yet to get paid my SOL, but I'm sure this will work out just fine.

What can I do with SOL?
You can use SOL for various services inside Sola, or withdraw it to your Ethereum Wallet.
(Source: https://sola.foundation/)

There is a support page on their website with FAQ. It is pretty straightforward, so check it out if you need more help than what I give you here. https://sola.ai/support

Conclusion

Sola is an easy to use phone and desktop app. It takes some practice, but after that you're ready to go!
Personally, I LOVE Steemit. I am not comparing Sola to Steemit and it shouldn't be. It is not the same.
Here, I love the stories people write. The different communities that arose. The people.
I haven't seen this on Sola yet. Maybe it's there, but I don't think so because people are looking at your photos, not your stories. And that's fine.
I think the app is perfect for those who love to post a lot of photos each day. Like they would on Instagram.
For me, it is completely new, but it's not hard to do and it earns me crypto.
And with the way the markets are going at the moment, I think we can all welcome a little extra income.

I'd say: try it and if it isn't for you then it's uninstalled in no time!
Oh, and if you want to look me up: I use the same name there. 🤗

Sort:  

looks tres interessant, I can already think of a hanful of people I will recommend this too! Thanks missV ;) x I hope you're well and life is treating you NICE! Ive been away for a while, but I might be squeaking back slowly, if my brain allows me to! x

Yeah, I was wondering where you had gone! So please do squeak back here. Steemit is not the same without you! After an eventful year, things are finally starting to quiet down a bit, so I am quite happy about that. Thank you for asking. Plus, the date for Steemfest3 should be squeaking closer too (hopefully) so that's something exciting to look forward to! I hope you've been well and your happy self. Don't be a stranger now!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for sharing this because Instagram is a waste of time and energy

You're welcome. And I agree. Instagram annoys me lol. Anything crypto is better than that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45