You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: With great power comes great responsibility

in #sociology6 years ago

Hey – maybe we could build it on Steemit, using SMTs! So many good ideas... hmm, maybe I'll join in with this, even though I'm not a member of ecotrain. I agree SO MUCH that many people are woefully bad at critical thinking, but I don't agree that it's because they are stupid (although they may appear to be). I think it's more complicated. I reckon it's often due to repressed anger, maybe going back to a childhood upset, and they're looking for something to hook their anger on. I have an old friend who's been doing this recently. She spouts absolute nonsense about stuff she's read online, and when you challenge her about it, she argues very intelligently and coherently. But she takes her arguments to extremist conclusions. It's quite bizarre. I've seen other people do it too. It's lazy thinking, or taking refuge in extreme notions and refusing to look at any other viewpoint. If I had the power, I would make psychotherapy free and government subsidised. Everyone could try as many different psychotherapies as they liked, until they found one that worked for them.

Sort:  

Yeah, one way or another, they have serious issues and I agree that proper therapy could be the cure for that ;) Thanks for such a nice feedback 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49