Bullshit jobs

in #sociology5 years ago (edited)

I don't find this subject too controversial, but understand that there are some people who might get offended since the topic might hit a little too close to home. That being said, the more I think about this, the more I observe how we've moved forward as a society based on market economies, I can't help but to agree with the critical voices and bright minds talking on the subject.



economist.com

We have, without a doubt, evolved the concept of "value of labor" into something that does not really take into account the technological breakthroughs that allow us to live in a time of abundance. As I write that, I'm fully aware to that some people I'm probably speaking nonsense, but this abundance I speak of is verifiable, and a mere look into life expectancy, healthcare systems and global economies does a pretty good job at establishing that particular truth. Yes, we can talk about inequalities all day, but inequality by it's very nature is referential, meaning that a gap between two socio-economic classes can still exist, but the overall movement of both has been upward.

Because I've lived the life, because I've had those bullshit jobs, I have to admit that the salaries I've been paid to perform them, have at times not been warranted. That is to say, that the actual contribution of value was very small, regardless of the the fluff and grandeur the corporate title may have given me.

This particular video does an excellent job of summing it up, and I would encourage anyone who is particularly curious on the subject and is in that particular journey of questioning our current capitalistic system, to give it a good listen, but do so with an open mind.

Before you go, tell me something... Have you ever had a bullshit job too?

@meno

Sort:  

After watching the video, this is not what I thought it was. Yes, one for the first jobs I had when leaving school was a shelf filler in a supermarket.

It was a bullshit job to me so much that I once wrote an 11 part memoir post on our very own Steemit letting everyone know the horrors I endured :)

I had have worked in a bullshit job in my holiday weeks. I'm very glad I found other jobs.
The Job I had to do was to remove defect products from the production line. It was the worst Job I ever worked in.

Posted using Partiko Android

Soooo right on. This is a perfect explanation of the problem with employment. Thanks!

Very eye opening and provocative thoughts as you can definitely see this often in corporate jobs! I think it has a lot to do with how intangible things have been given values that are not really established. This will only get worst until it gets better.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Same thinking my friend. As i am doing job right now but thinking to quit soon and want to something which helps me to stand for my self .
Let's see when i will get this time soon .

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes certainly had bullshit jobs and that’s why stopped working for someone else 5 years ago

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81