This article against racism is racist!

in #society7 years ago (edited)

This post will discuss an article publised in 'O – The Oprah magazine'. Please read the article first before you continue. Link to the article is here


(source: https://mic.com/articles/177195/these-three-pictures-make-a-powerful-statement-about-race-and-power-among-women#.y0E0iQ0EL)

Why i disagree with the article

Reading the article and seeing the pictures it reminded me a lot of the white people bashing we saw in the last year, spearheaded by Buzzfeeds "Dear white people".

It is wrong to blame a certain race for problems in society. Even if a lot of these problems originated due to actual institutionalized racism, like the apartheid in America in the 50s or missguided immigration politics in Germany (Not talking about the refugee crisis, I am talking about this. )

Discussing racism is very important right now. We have the alleged racism of Trump and many actual racists sneaking in the shadow of his supporters. To get a taste of this actual racism, please read the comments under a video I made translating a Merkel Speech:

People chanting "Islam is an ideology of terrorism", "kill all moslems", "refugees are rapefugees" are the racists that we need to oppose, but also talk to. I think discussion with these people is the only real solution to end racism, but even I find it very hard, because I actually have a lot of sympathy for the Islam, so I tend to get enraged very quickly as well. (and thus not leading a healthy discussion myself)

Saying your everyday white person, that has a latin american servant, gets her nails done by an asian person or buys a barbie doll, is racist in my opinion. It is hypocritical to blame all or most of white people for the actions of a few.

Apology to @ramengirl

Lastly I want to deeply apologize to @ramengirl . She made a post about the Oprah article and I called the article racist in the comment section. I can see how you might think it implies me saying "ramengirl is racist".... I feel really bad about this. @ramengirl makes great bilingual, that let me and other readers understand korean cutlure better. Understanding another culture is a great way to prevent racism.

@ramengirl You are a great person, please forgive me

(source: http://shrek.wikia.com/wiki/)

Sort:  

@thatgermandude Thanks for making article my friend! I just didn't wanted to people misunderstood me! :)

So glad you liked my article and consider me a friend!

The world would be a better place if we all woke up to this in the morning 👍 🥂

Great post
Thanks for sharing
Happy to read
Upvoted & followed

#whitegenocide is real and der Juden is behind it.
Jews are ruining your Life! See how:
https://steemit.com/jew/@bitcoin1488/atrocities

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99