How social media can save a life

in #socialmedia6 years ago

I was just getting ready for bed last night, when I had a wee look at my Facebook feed. I generally try to avoid going online late at night, but I was about to have a bath, so I thought I had enough time to wind down after that.

As I scrolled down the page, I saw a very disturbing post from a man I've only known a few months, through hillwalking. It was one of those vividly-coloured banner posts with big bright letters. It said:

"See you all on the flipside. It's been emotional."

I'll try to keep the man's identity as anonymous as possible. He'd taken up hillwalking in a drive to get his life back together after a period of depression and heavy drinking. He'd been on some of the walks I'd organised, and had seemed very strong and fit. But recently he'd pulled out of some of the walks I'd organised, at the last minute.

Computer hands text.jpg

Last week I heard that he'd turned up for a walk organised by someone else, but that his fitness had declined so badly, he'd had to drop out early on. Apparently he'd gone back to the drinking.

A cry for help?

I saw his post last night half an hour after he'd posted it, and there was already a list of concerned messages from friends asking him how he was feeling. Some of them said they'd tried to phone him, but the phone was ringing out.

umbrella lady.jpg

As I read through the list, more messages were being added. I was watching a drama unfold. I felt very helpless, as I don't know the man very well. I have no contact details for him and no address.

Was it a cry for help? Whether it was or not, people were there to answer the call.

By the time I'd had my bath, some of his friends were already making their way to his flat. One of them posted that he was standing outside the building but couldn't get in, due to the security. He didn't know the number of the flat.

Another friend advised him to just press all the buzzers, even though it was after midnight by now. And another friend called the police.

I was glad to see that this man had so many good friends looking out for him. I don't know him very well, but he's an outgoing, friendly person and I've had some good conversations with him on the hills.

I scrolled through his Facebook profile. I knew he was an army veteran, and his profile told me that he'd served in Northern Ireland. His profile photo shows him as a young soldier, with the word "Betrayed" in large capital letters underneath.

Scrolling back through his recent posts, I saw a photo from the same evening, showing a selection of mostly used drug blister packs, with the message:

"…And a wee cup of tea. It's easy when you think about it."

hand raised from ocean.jpg

Further back there was a post about a small hillwalk he'd done the day before, and before that, a few posts mourning the passing of a good friend of his, who had apparently died quite unexpectedly a few days before.

Not knowing even where this man lived, and knowing very little about him other than his name, I realised that there was nothing I could do to help. I went to bed feeling very concerned.

Dawn

When I woke up this morning, the first thing I did was check my Facebook feed. There was a post from my friend saying he was fine now and thanking everyone for their concern, especially those who had gone to his rescue.

The posts have since been deleted, so I'm assuming he wants to put this episode behind him. I certainly won't be gossiping about it to anyone who knows him. Hopefully he'll be able to pull back out of that dark place now and start getting back to mental and physical fitness.

Sunrise.jpg

Social media has many flaws. It can be abused, and used for the wrong reasons. But I believe it also has many positives. It can bring people together in a time of crisis. And it can show people that they are loved and valued and that their life is worthwhile.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Oops! I forgot to add the photo credits for this post. They are as follows:
Pic 1: by geralt
Pic 2: by Daniel_Nebreda
Pic 3: by nikko macaspac
Pic 4: by Bruno Scramgnon

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 229 (8/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

IMO, that message was indeed a cry for help. If he'd really been serious he'd have just got on with it. That doesn't mean he's not hurting though. He needs to find some counseling, seriously. You can only play this game so long before you alienate people -- and they stop answering the call.

The friend of a friend used to do this -- take an overdose of something and then send out a call just in time for someone to save her. I said after one very close call, "If she keeps doing this, someday she's going to succeed."

About a year later ... she did.

That's so sad about the friend of a friend. I think in my friend's case he probably fell into a very dark place, made worse by the drinking, and started to take the pills in despair. I suspect that one part of him was just seeking oblivion and another part was wanting to connect with people, and that he didn't really know what he was doing. But it's really difficult to say why someone would do this kind of thing.

What a story, great that it ended the way it did. It's amazing to hear that people still go out of their way to help someone in need. I hope he's doing well now.

Absolutely! I thought it was wonderful the way that his close friends were there for him, actually rushing over to the town where he lives, very late at night, and co-ordinating with each other.

It's great to see that online friends are not just a number and that they actually would do something for someone!

Congratulations @natubat! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Congratulations @natubat!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19