You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Boost Your Follower Numbers on Social Media.

in #socialmedia7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago when I finally got actively interested in Steemit after it was mentioned in a newsletter I read, I remembered @Steemit had followed me on Twitter. I checked my Twitter followers and couldn't find @Steemit.

After reading this story, it became clear that @Steemit had done the follow-then-unfollow-after-I-follow-back insult to me. I then mentioned @Steemit in a tweet to complain and even posted a screenshot of an email notification as evidence of the follow that I then thought was nonexistent. Next, I replied to this story with the same complaint and a link to the screenshot uploaded on Twitter.

Afterwards, something told me to check my Twitter followers and I found @Steemit somewhere down the short list of 178. I sort of panicked. I didn't want my first contribution on Steemit to be a false accusation directed at the most powerful account on the steem blockchain. I quickly deleted everything related to the complaint on both Twitter and Steemit.

Now I am wondering if @Steemit saw the mention/complaint and followed me again.
Would I even know?
Would @Steemit appear at the top of my list of Twitter followers?
Twitter say email notifications are for NEW followers.

Moral of all this: we need unfollow email notifications so that we can effectively respond to follow-then-unfollow-after-I-follow-back insults and generally discourage the behaviour.

How many times can you organically mention @Steemit in a post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45